The Joe Beats Experiment* ‎– Presents Indie Rock Blues

Arbeid Records ‎– ARB006
CD, Mixed, Promo

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 M. Ward Sad Sad Song (Remix) 3:51
2 The Black Heart Procession When We Reach The Hill (Remix) 3:24
3 90 Day Men / Cursive Exploration Vs. Solution Baby / Dedication To Desertion (Remix) 3:28
4 Belle & Sebastian & DJ Signify Space Boy Dream (Remix)
Scratches – DJ Signify
5 Ugly Casanova / Saafir Ice On The Sheets / Light Sleeper (Remix) 3:54
6 Pinback / Kid Dakota XIXY / Winterkill (Remix) 3:54
7 Neutral Milk Hotel Naomi (Remix) 3:01
8 June Of 44 Doomsday (Remix) 3:54
9 Minutemen / Neil Hamburger It's Expected I'm Gone / Open Ended Interview (Remix)
Woodwind [Flaranute] – Umberto Crenca
10 Andrew Bird I (Remix) 2:36
11 Deerhoof Panda, Panda, Panda (Remix)
Scratches – DJ Signify
12 The Make-Up / Scout Niblett Save Yourself / It's All For You (Remix) 3:57
13 Songs: Ohia Coxcomb Red (Remix) 3:43


  • Artwork By – Frank Mullin
  • Artwork By [Layout] – MAS Design
  • EngineerChris Warren (4)
  • Mastered ByPorter
  • Photography – William Schaff
  • RemixJoe Beats


For Promotional Use Only.

Included in the CD booklet are reviews of the bands and songs selected.

All songs remixed by Joey Beats for Senor Ignacio Publishing.
All cuts and scratching by DJ Signify.
Flaranute (Crecna's mixed creation of a clarinte and flute) by Umberto Crenca aka Sir Guy di Gui da Portugee.
Song blurbs written by CW Roelle. Editing by Joey Beats.

Executive: CW "Sonny" Roelle. (
Artwork: William Schaff. (
Photography: Frank Mullin. (
Layout: MAS Design. (
Engineer: Chris Warren. (
Liason: Ryan Gomersall. (
Promotion: Dan Shremac. ( (<em>incorrectly listed as</em>)

Thank you for the support.

(C) 2005 Arbeid Records.


Add Review



January 28, 2006
edited over 12 years ago

This is a really impressive and fun mixset. Apparently, the tunes were selected by C.W. Roelle and Joey Beats, accordin. I see C.W. is something of a poor college-radio indie-rock dork who went to a lot of shows and didn't eat enough (he chose buying Neutral Milk Hotel's "In The Aeroplane Over The Sea" over eating). The CD insert has stories, such as how the singer from Pinback once gave the admission money back to someone who yelled "you suck!" at a show, and asked him to leave.

Knowing something of each of these original artists, and sometimes loving the songs before they were spliced and mixed, I was a bit suprised how it all worked out. Most tracks are reworked, some are a bit of mash-ups, but they are all worked together into just over 43 minutes of sad indie rock, ending in perhaps my favorite song, now reworked with a stronger beat and samples of groupies from the 1970s.

From knowing Joey Beats only from his appearances as a producer on Sage Francis tracks to this, I'm quite impressed with his works. He didn't overwork the original songs, and the whole album feels more like an indie rock mixtape than hip hop sampling experiment. The only flaw is that some of the tracks sound like they were poorly mastered or transferred.