The Legendary Pink Dots ‎– The Crushed Velvet Apocalypse

Play It Again Sam Records ‎– BIAS 149
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 I Love You In Your Tragic Beauty 4:40
A2 Green Gang 7:38
A3 Hellsville 5:42
A4 Hellowe'en 1:17
A5 The Safe Way 4:31
B1 Just A Lifetime 7:40
B2 The Death Of Jack The Ripper 5:20
B3 New Tomorrow 9:53

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Studio Klaverland during the summer of 1989.

For the blessed deviant.
Sing while you may! (only, louder)
Krazhtonivezhtika! '89s a good year.

Comes with printed innersleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 413356 414912
  • Label Code: LC 7800
  • Rights Society: SABAM / BIEM
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): 08 25363 20 2A1 BIAS 149 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): BIAS 149 08 25363 20 2B1 A
  • Other (Manufacturer Code): 08-025363-20


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



December 13, 2010
I've listened to The Dots for years and can say this is one of their top 3 for me. They really hit their peak with this one (much like another great band they inspired, skinny puppy) Hellsville is a great gothic anthem that never gets old. Greengang is excellent psychedelia. Safe Way while being slow has great lyrics and a monolithic feel, very unique much like Jack the Ripper. Just a Lifetime and New Tomorrow are long, epic pieces that have so many layers, levels and dynamics i find something new with every listen. The first song is a great emotional song with one of the best psych folk-style endings. So there really is something for everyone on this record. A masterpiece of modern music, sadly no one will ever really hear it.