The Muffins ‎– Manna/Mirage

CD, Album, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Monkey With The Golden Eyes
Horn [Baritone], Tuba – John SchmidtTrombone – Doug Elliott (2)Trumpet – Larry Elliot (2)
2 Hobart Got Burned 5:56
3 Amelia Earhart
Guitar – Steve Feigenbaum*
4 The Adventures Of Captain Boomerang
Guitar [Under Water] – Steve Feigenbaum*Trumpet [Bubble] – Greg Yaskovich

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork [Back Cover Sculpture Courtesy Of]Ellen Vincent
  • Artwork [Front Cover Sculpture By]Lynn Pruitt
  • Bass, Piano, Guitar, Percussion [Percussives]Billy Swann
  • Drums, Gong, Xylophone, Vibraphone [Vibes], Percussion [Percussives], Performer [Pots, Pans], Tin Whistle [Pennywhistle]Paul Sears (2)
  • Engineer [Engineered By]Colleen Scott, Tom Scott (2)
  • Graphics [Back Cover Graphics By], Design [Additional Design By]Diane Falcone
  • Graphics [CD Graphic Conversion By]Paula Millet
  • Graphics [Front Cover Graphics By]Sunshine (28)
  • Mastered By [Premastered By]Roger Seibel
  • Mixed ByThe Muffins
  • Photography By [Band Photo By]Shawn Pruitt
  • Photography By [Cover Photography By]Steve Abramovitz
  • Piano [Pianos], Organ, Piccolo Flute, Alto Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet, Whistle [Cereal Box Whistle], Percussion [Percussives]Dave Newhouse
  • Piccolo Flute, Flute [E Flat], Alto Flute, Flute [C], Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet [B Flat], Alto Clarinet, Oboe, Recorder [Soprano Recorder], Percussion [Percussives]Tom Scott (2)
  • Written-ByNewhouse* (tracks: 1, 3, 4), Sears* (tracks: 3), The Muffins (tracks: 2)


Recorded at Catch-A-Buzz Studios.
CD premastered at SAE.

© 1991 The Muffins
℗ 1991 Wayside Music Archive Series

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 4577-55004-2 3
  • Barcode (String): 045775500423
  • Matrix / Runout: WMAS4 01! D MADE IN USA BY PDO

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All



Add Review



February 25, 2014
Often quoted as the American Henry Cow, The Muffins however never really gained the notoriety of their mentors, in fact being borne out of a number of bands that recorded at the Catch-A-Buzz studios they never really existed long as a working band (only three years it seems) and this was their finest moment. Out of print since the excellent Random Radar Records label collapsed, and not a great quality pressing either - a CD reissue was certainly warranted.
With just four lengthy tracks of instrumental music, The Muffins were exceptionally adept composers, improvisers and devilishly talented instrumentalists. Arguably however, they were not original, as in addition to the Henry Cow references a great deal of other influences could be quoted: Soft Machine, Matching Mole, Keith Tippett, Frank Zappa, Yamash'ta's East Wind, etc. Otherwise a very Canterbury cum RIO type style, bridging jazz and rock and a whole lot more.
From my review in Audion #21, published in May 1992