The National ‎– Sleep Well Beast

4AD ‎– 4AD0020LP
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, White

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Nobody Else Will Be There
A2 Day I Die
A3 Walk It Back
Written-By [Excerpt] – Ron Suskind
B1 The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness
B2 Born To Beg
B3 Turtleneck
C1 Empire Line
C2 I'll Still Destroy You
C3 Guilty Party
D1 Carin at the Liquor Store
D2 Dark Side of the Gym
D3 Sleep Well Beast
Orchestrated By [Additional Orchestration] – Maaike van der Linde

Companies, etc.



Pressed on 2x12" standard weight white vinyl. Gatefold sleeve. Includes a 24" x 24" folded poster and 2 inner sleeves. Includes code for digital download.

Barcode sticker: 4AD0020LP MADE IN EU

℗ & © 2017 4AD

Produced [...] at Long Pond, Hudson Valley, NY.

"Walk It Back" includes an excerpt from the article entitled "Faith, Certainty and the Presidency of George W. Bush" by Ron Suskind, first published in the New York Times Magazine.

All rights administered by BMG Rights Management (US) LLC (except for Ron Suskind, published by Music of Virtual (BMI) administered outside North America by Touch Tones Music Ltd.).

Recorded [...] at Long Pond. Paris orchestral sessions recorded [...] at Studio Saint Germain. Los Angeles vocal sessions recorded [...] at Illegoland. Additional sessions recorded at Future Past, Hudson, NY, Funkhaus, Berlin, and Michelberger Hotel, Berlin.

Mastered [...] at Sterling Sound, New York, NY.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 191400002012
  • Other (Barcode sticker): 4AD0020LP MADE IN EU
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout etching): 4AD0020LP-A BH80800-01 A1 RKS STERLING -
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout etching): 4AD0020LP-B BH80800-01 B1 RKS STERLING -
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout etching): BH80800-02 C1 4AD0020LP-C RKS STERLING -
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout etching): BH80800-02 D1 4AD0020LP-D RKS STERLING -

Other Versions (5 of 17) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
4AD0020LPE The National Sleep Well Beast(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Blu) 4AD 4AD0020LPE USA & Canada 2017 Sell This Version
4AD0020LP The National Sleep Well Beast(2xLP, Album, Ltd, S/Edition, Whi) 4AD 4AD0020LP USA & Canada 2017 Sell This Version
4AD0020CDJP The National Sleep Well Beast(2xCD, Album) Beat Records, 4AD 4AD0020CDJP Japan 2017 Sell This Version
4AD0020CDT The National Sleep Well Beast(CD, Album, Tar) 4AD 4AD0020CDT US 2017 Sell This Version
4AD0020CD The National Sleep Well Beast(CD, Album, Dig) 4AD 4AD0020CD Australia 2017 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 6 Reviews

Add Review



October 8, 2019
Ive been record collecting and selling for many years and i have to say this pressing is a bad one.side3 & 4 have bad surface noise, audio distortion and is just a plain mess..Side 1 & 2 is slightly better with better sound stage but it still has light surface noise..i have no idea if its a label problem as i also have high violet which is also a poor pressing..


March 5, 2018
edited over 2 years ago

For me great pressing, great sound, no pop, no click. bought on (mars 2018).


September 13, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
Allow me to interject, I don't know if I got really lucky but my copy sounds really great. Barely any noise. I'm an audio nazi so get annoyed by the smallest ticks and some ticks do happen but it's really awesome for a colored pressing especially with the cheapness of all these labels regarding pressing. (and I haven't cleaned it so that noise will probably go away)


September 12, 2017
Just got the vinyl. Sadly, the entire SIDE A is full of loud and very intrusive noise on the left channel. These are not pops or crackles, more like some very strong rips through the sound like someone nudged the tonearm while it was playing. Generally the vinyl is quiet, much more then some, yet these things on SIDE A are totally ruining the experience for me. I just don't want to listen to it. I'll be exchanging it tomorrow.