The Nice ‎– Diamond Hard Blue Apples Of The Moon

Micro Werks ‎– MW067
CD, Compilation


1 The Nice She Belongs To Me
2 The Nice Flower King Of Flies
3 The Nice Sombrero Sam
4 The Nice Youn Keep Me Hanging On
5 The Nice The Thoughts Of Emmerlist Davjack
6 The Nice Brandenburg
7 The Nice Diamond Hard Blue Apples Of The Moon
8 The Nice Ars Long Vita Brevis (2nd Movement)
9 The Nice Aries
10 The Nice Lumpy Gravy
11 The Nice Little Arabella
12 The Nice Happy Freuds
13 The Nice Get To You
14 The Nice America
15 The Nice Introduction
16 The Nice I'm Not One of Those People
17 The Nice Azrael Revisited
18 The Nice Blues Of The Praries
19 The Nice Diary Of An Empty Day (& Top Gear Signature)
20 The Nice For Example
21 The Nice, Roy Harper St Thomas
22 The Nice Intermezzio Karalia Suite
23 The Nice Hang On To A Dream
24 The Nice Country Pie - Brandenburg Concerto No 6
25 The Nice Rondo
26 The Nice Pathetique (Symphony No 6 3rd Movement)
27 The Nice Five Bridges Suite



The Nice with keyboard virtuoso Keith Emerson (later to be a founding member of Emerson Lake & Palmer) at the helm was one of the most adventurous bands of the British psychedelic scene. “Diamond Hard Blue Apples Of The Moon” is a 2 CD collection consisting of live recordings from 1967-’70 concerts, TV, and radio appearances and the first complete overview of the live history of The Nice, covering the bands entire lifespan and all the tracks have been newly re-mastered. The first Volume – The Quartet documents the band’s quartet phase and features a re-invention of Dylan’s “She Belongs To Me”, acid-fantasy lyricism of “Flower King of Flies”, surprisingly never recorded covers of The Byrds “Get To You” and Frank Zappa’s “Lumpy Gravy” and the bands biggest charting single a bold radical reinvention of Bernstein’s “America”. The second Volume – The Trio documents the band’s trio phase (minus a lead guitarist) finds Emerson as a front man unleashing particularly proto ELP pieces “Intermezzo Karelia Suite” and “Pathetique” a choral arrangement of Tim Hardin’s “Hang On To A Dream, a pych-soaked take on Dave Brubeck’s “Rondo”, Sonny Rollins jazz classic “St Thomas” featuring a surprise guest, the renowned U.K. troubadour Roy Harper on vocals and the ambitious “Five Bridges Suite”. “Diamond Hard Blue Apples Of The Moon” also features cover artwork designed by illustrator William Stout, internationally renowned as one of the first rock ‘n’ roll bootleg cover artists. In Keith Emerson’s own words “I hope you will enjoy listening to these unique recordings as I do”.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 813411010670


Add Review



June 20, 2017
I bought this with the hopes of getting the quartet version of the Byrds track "Get To You" that was available on the second and very hard to find BBC Sessions disc put out by Sanctuary and is available as a bonus track on the Castle reissue of Thoughts of Emerlist Davjack (which would be a redundant purchase as I bought Castle's Here Come The Nice three disc anthology set). The version here is the trio version available on the slap dash BBC disc put out by Receiver in the mid 1990s. So that was a bit of a disappointment, especially since I bought it to make up for the bonus tracks I was lacking not buying the individual Castle reissues as I already bought the Columbia ones in the 1990s which sound fine.

Largely this set is a repackaging of material available elsewhere, which is par for the course with the Nice as they seem to be the kings of budget compilations (along with the Small Faces) due to the rights holders of the Nice's back catalog to any label that wanted to cash in on Keith Emerson's fame with Emerson, Lake and Palmer. The only difference with this collection is that it was far from being a budget reissue (yet cheaper than the prices the out of print Sanctuary BBC set are currently fetching) and it was actually authorized by Keith Emerson. Sound quality wise, not great on a lot of the BBC tracks, but that is to be expected. The Swedish concert is available elsewhere and I have no idea why they chose to use the Five Bridges version of Karelia Suite, especially when there are other available good quality Karelias from various TV broadcasts that have been available for sometime now.

If you have the Castle reissues of the first three albums, no reason to buy this, if you have The Swedish Radio Sessions, no reason to buy this. In fact all these tracks are available elsewhere. There are better reissues and archival releases of this band to be had.