The Outcasts (4) & The Esquires (3) ‎– Texas Punk: 1966 Volume 2 (Music From... The Outer Limits!)

Cicadelic Records ‎– CICLP-997, Cicadelic Records ‎– Ciclp-997
Texas Punk – 2
Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Outcasts (4) I'm In Pittsburgh And It's Raining
Written-By – Jim Carsten
A2 The Outcasts (4) Smokestack Lightning
Written-By – C. Burnett*
A3 The Outcasts (4) Route 66
Written-By – D. Troupe*
A4 The Outcasts (4) Sweet Mary
Written-By – Jim Carsten
A5 The Outcasts (4) I'll Set You Free
Written-By – Denny Turner, Jim Carsten
A6 The Outcasts (4) The Birds
Written-By – Jim Carsten
B1 The Esquires (3) Judgment Day
B2 The Esquires (3) These Are The Tender Years
B3 The Esquires (3) Come On, Come On
B4 The Esquires (3) Time Don't Mean So Much
B5 The Esquires (3) Loneliness Is Mine
B6 The Esquires (3) Come On, Come On (Reprise)

Companies, etc.



The Esquires have one side of this reissue LP, which is shared with another Texas '60s garage band, the Outcasts. "Judgement Day," with its stomping Pretty Things-like arrangement (although this is not the "Judgement Day" performed by the Pretties themselves), and the all-out hurtling tornado of "Come On, Come On" are two of the finest examples of Texan '60s garage rock. The other four tracks aren't nearly as good, but considering how good the good stuff is (by both the Esquires and the Outcasts), the LP's not a bad pickup for garageheads.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A, Etched): LH 22955
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B, Etched): LH 22956