The Pete Best Combo ‎– The Pete Best Combo

ADA Sound Ltd. ‎– ADASD 07226
CD, Compilation, Limited Edition, Unofficial Release, Mono


1 All Aboard 1:41
2 Pete's Theme 2:20
3 I'll Try Anyway 2:40
4 Everybody Needs Somebody To Love 3:05
5 If You Can't Get Her 3:29
6 I Don't Know Why I Do 2:40
7 Why Did You Leave Me Baby? 1:48
8 I'll Have Everything Too 2:33
9 More Than I Need Myself 2:36
10 The Way I Feel About You 1:50
11 Don't Play With Me 2:01
12 How Do You Get To Know Her Name? 3:01
13 She's Not The Only Girl In Town 2:42
14 Keys To My Heart 3:16
15 Castin' My Spell 1:56
16 Off The Hook 2:35


Editorial Review:
There's a perfectly valid reason to own this album. Unfortunately, it has little to do with the music contained on the disc. Perhaps the most notorious, terminated drummer in rock & roll history, Pete Best was, of course, the original skinman in the Beatles. This 16-song collection is culled from mid-'60s sessions by Best's post-Fab ensemble, an otherwise unremarkable unit that could only coast on the fame of its unfortunate namesake for so long. While a few tracks are appealing--the robust opener "All Aboard," the Jagger/Richards-penned "Off the Hook"--most are hampered by shoddy production and haphazard performances. "If You Can't Get Her" is second rate Herman's Hermits; the Hermits were, in turn, second rate Beatles. That said, the Pete Best Combo has earned a humble niche in Brit Invasion history. Mersey Beat aficionados, take note. Casual fans, however, won't have a hard time finding something much better than Best.
--Steven Stolder @ Amazon.Com

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: ADASD 07226

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All