The Pharcyde ‎– Labcabincalifornia

Delicious Vinyl ‎– CDP 7243 8 35102 2 1
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Bullshit
Mixed By – Tim Latham
2 Pharcyde 4:20
3 Groupie Therapy
Producer – Diamond D
4 Runnin' 4:56
5 She Said
Keyboards – Bob DurhamMixed By – Tim NimitzProducer – Trevant Hardson*
6 Splattitorium 2:58
7 Somethin' That Means Somethin'
Mixed By – Bryan Davis
8 All Live
Drums – Jay DeeOrgan – Justin Reinhardt
9 Drop 5:35
10 Hey You
Producer – Trevant Hardson*
11 Y?
Co-producer – Jay Dee
12 It's All Good 0:41
13 Moment In Time
Co-producer – Trevant Hardson*Mixed By – Tim LathamProducer – M. Walk
14 The Hustle
Mixed By – James MansfieldRap [Featuring] – Big Boy (3), Randy Mack, Schmooche Cat
15 Little D 1:31
16 Devil Music
Producer – Fat Lip
17 The E.N.D.
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes] – Justin ReinhardtProducer – M-Walk*Rap [Featuring] – KamauTrumpet – Fernando Pullum

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 2438-35102-2 1
  • Matrix / Runout: 35102 18893A 02!
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L005

Other Versions (5 of 51) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
61044-71812-2 The Pharcyde Labcabincalifornia(CD, Album) Delicious Vinyl 61044-71812-2 US 1995 Sell This Version
CDP 7243 8 35102 2 1, none The Pharcyde Labcabincalifornia(CD, Album, Club) Delicious Vinyl, Capitol Records CDP 7243 8 35102 2 1, none US 1995 Sell This Version
828 736-1, 850 497-1 The Pharcyde Labcabincalifornia(2xLP, Album, Ltd + 12") Go! Beat, Go! Beat 828 736-1, 850 497-1 UK 1995 Sell This Version
828 733-2 The Pharcyde Labcabincalifornia(CD, Album, RE) Delicious Vinyl, Go! Beat 828 733-2 UK & Europe Unknown Sell This Version
CDP 7243 8 35860 2 8 The Pharcyde Labcabincalifornia(CD, Album, Cle) Delicious Vinyl CDP 7243 8 35860 2 8 US 1995 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 21, 2012
edited over 5 years ago
I am surprised nobody has reviewed this album considering it has a bit of a cult following although it was seen as a bit of a disappointment at the time. The main problem when it came out was that it was such a departure from the first album. Altogether less zany, it seemed to be a similar approach to De La Soul is Dead and the second Digable Planets album, to which it has a similar deep dark funky feel.

I know a few people who prefer this to the first album, a bit like I prefer later De la Soul albums to 3 Feet High which I find a bit irritating. However I would not rate Labcabincalifornia as highly as De La Soul is Dead or Blowout Comb as this album while it sounds great often gets lost in a haze of dope smoke. A bit like Temples of Boom by Cypress Hill, the atmosphere is intoxicating but drags from about half way. The raps which we so speedy and melodic on the first album are now aimless and oddly considering it has a track called "Somethin' That Means Somethin'" most of the subjects are petty bitching about groupies, shallow friends and people stealing the Pharcyde sound.

J Dilla produces a large chunk of the album along with the highlight "Runnin'", the track with the most links to the previous albums sound and lyrical approach. There is a similar vibe to the Dilla produced A Tribe Called Quest albums and it is interesting that these last two Quest albums are seem as a bit of a let down compared to earlier non Dilla produced albums. His dark dense soundscapes do seem to overwhelm the rappers a bit and also tend to lead rappers down introspective paths which can work for a few songs but is difficult to sustain over a whole album. Personally I think Dilla's genius is best represented on individual cuts and his instrumental work.

Overall if you are a Dilla fan I would say get hold of this, more representative of his work than the Pharcyde as you may know from the hits but a bold change of directions with at least 45 percent good stuff.

Frank @ London School of Sound