The Pogues ‎– BBC Sessions 1984-1985

BBC ‎– 0190295299491, Pogue Mahone Records ‎– 0190295299491
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

The John Peel Show - Broadcast 17th April 1984 (As Pogue Mahone)
A1 Streams Of Whiskey
Arranged By – Pogues*Written By – Trad.*
A2 Greenland Whale Fisheries
Arranged By – Pogues*Written By – Trad.*
A3 Boys From The County Hell 2:56
A4 The Auld Triangle
Guitar – Jem FinerWritten-By – Brendan Behan
The David ‘Kid’ Jensen Show - Broadcast 9th July 1984
A5 Dingle Regatta
Arranged By – Finer*, Pogues*Written By – Trad.*
A6 Poor Paddy On The Railway
Arranged By – Pogues*Written By – Trad.*
A7 Boys From The County Hell 2:48
A8 Connemara Let’s Go! (AKA Down In The Ground Where The Dead Men Go) 2:52
The John Peel Show - Broadcast 12th December 1984
B1 Whiskey You’re The Devil
Arranged By – Pogues*Written By – Trad.*
B2 Navigator
Written-By – Philip Gaston*
B3 Sally MacLennane 2:53
B4 Danny Boy
Arranged By – Pogues*Written-By – Fred Weatherly*
The Janice Long Show - 11th July 1985
B5 Wild Cats Of Kilkenny 2:42
B6 Billy’s Bones 2:00
B7 The Old Main Drag
Fiddle – Henry BenaghUilleann Pipes – Tommy Keane
B8 Dirty Old Town
Fiddle – Henry BenaghUilleann Pipes – Tommy KeaneWritten-By – Ewan MacColl

Companies, etc.



Record Store Day 2020 exclusive release (in advance of wider release of 23-track CD version), limited to 5,000.

Tracks A4, A6, A7, B3, B4 previously released on Just Look Them Straight In The Eye And Say... Poguemahone!! - The Pogues Box Set.

In runout string the last 2 characters (1I) are mirrored, can be read as I∧ .
Length of track A4 is not listed on labels but has been added here based on previous release.

Tracks A1-A4 recorded 10th April 1984, produced by Mark Radeliffe, engineered by Ted de Bono, broadcast 17th April 1984 on The John Peel Show.
Tracks A5-8 recorded 21st June 1984, produced by Martyn Hayles (engineer unknown), broadcast 9th July 1984 on The David 'Kid' Jensen Show
Tracks B1-B4 reorded 4th December 1984, produced by Mark Radcliffe, engineered by Mike Robinson, broadcast 12th December 1984 on The John Peel Show
Tracks B5-B8 recorded 3rd July 1985, produced by Barry Andrews, Engineered by Martyn Parker, broadcast 11th July 1985 on The Janice Long Show.

All tracks published by Perfect Songs Ltd., except: track A4 by Keith Prowse Music Ltd./EMI Music Publishing Ltd., track B2 Omagas Publishing, and track 8 by Robins Music Publishing Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 190295 299491
  • Barcode (Scanned): 0190295299491
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side A, etched): 0190295299491 BJ94067-01 / A1 1I
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side B, etched): 0190295299491 BJ94067-01 B1 1I



Add Review



September 4, 2020
I think this record is cut very shallow. The slightest movement and the stylus jumps grooves. The record sounds great all in all, clean, no surface noise or pops.