The Smithereens ‎– 11

Capitol Records ‎– CDP 7 91194 2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 A Girl Like You
Backing Vocals – Maria VidalWritten-By [Strings], Arranged By [Strings] – Pat DiNizio
2 Blues Before And After 3:16
3 Blue Period
Cello – Gerry Sutyak*Vocals – Belinda Carlisle
4 Baby Be Good
Backing Vocals – Diane Rovell, Ginger Blake, Marilyn Wilson*, The Honeys
5 Room Without A View 4:09
6 Yesterday Girl 3:27
7 Cut Flowers
Backing Vocals – Diane Rovell, Ginger Blake, Marilyn Wilson*, The HoneysMusic By – Jim Babjak
8 William Wilson 3:34
9 Maria Elena 2:49
10 Kiss Your Tears Away 3:10

Companies, etc.



Manufactured by Capitol Records, Inc., a subsidiary of Capitol-EMI Music, Inc., Hollywood and Vine Streets, Hollywood, California.

Recorded at American Recording, Rumbo Recorders, The Grey Room, Los Angeles.

All songs Copyright © Famous Monster Music / Screen Gems-EMI Music Inc. (BMI)
Except track 7, © Tex Remy Music / Famous Monster Music / Screen Gems-EMI Music Inc. (BMI)

Printed in U.S.A. [Tray Card & Booklet]

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7777-91194-2 4
  • Barcode (String): 077779119424
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): CDP 7 91194 2 S9914C 1-1-2 CAPITOL JAX 2 C
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): CDP 7 91194 2 S9914C 1-1-9 CAPITOL JAX 9 C
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (5 of 33) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
TC-ENV 1000 The Smithereens 11(Cass, Album) Enigma Records (3) TC-ENV 1000 UK 1989 Sell This Version
CDP 7 91194 2, CDENV 1000 The Smithereens 11(CD, Album) Enigma Records (3), Enigma Records (3) CDP 7 91194 2, CDENV 1000 UK & Europe 1989 Sell This Version
262 7947644 The Smithereens 11(Cass, Album) Hispavox 262 7947644 Spain 1990 Sell This Version
C1-91194 The Smithereens 11(LP, Album) Capitol Records C1-91194 Canada 1989 Sell This Version
9D-669 The Smithereens 11(CD, Album) DRO 9D-669 Spain 1990 Sell This Version



Add Review



November 13, 2018

A delicate balancing act is what The Smithereens do, not just on this album “11,” but in general with all of their albums ... The Smithereens have the genuine ability to rock out to the maximum and they do, but there is a certain amount of reserve and restraint that they bring to their music, a holding back, a sophistication if you will for the music, because they are not just guitar players in a band, they are all first rate musicians from beginning to end.

As if being a first rate musician was not enough, The Smithereens are one of those rare groups who have the ability to write amazingly great songs, both lyrically and musically ... and then they take the time needed to arrange those songs with a consistent flow on each of the records they put out. The word that I’m dancing around is “intelligent,” and I resist using that word because I’m afraid that some people with turn up their noses, if not the volume on the Smithereens ... but for my time and money, there is nothing more delightful than to find quality in every corner of their room.

What you are going to find on a Smithereens’ album are tightly worked, well crafted songs, very listenable, and very memorable ... what you will dance to at a Smithereens concert are nothing short of amazing songs that ebb, blend and flow into and out of each other like extended jams.

So dig on the tastes this guitar driven band gives you and then follow your feet to a Smithereens concert for the time of your life.

Songs like "A Girl Like You," "Blues Before And After," "Blue Period," and "Yesterday Girl" are instant classics ... and so is "Maria Elena" geez, the whole album is just fine.

Review by Jenell Kesler