The Smiths ‎– Hatful Of Hollow

Rough Trade ‎– ROUGH 76
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Garrod & Lofthouse; Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 William, It Was Really Nothing 2:09
A2 What Difference Does It Make? 3:42
A3 These Things Take Time
Producer – Dale Griffin
A4 This Charming Man 2:43
A5 How Soon Is Now? 6:43
A6 Handsome Devil 2:46
A7 Hand In Glove
Producer – The Smiths
A8 Still Ill 3:54
B1 Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now 3:34
B2 This Night Has Opened My Eyes 3:40
B3 You've Got Everything Now
Producer – Dale Griffin
B4 Accept Yourself 4:02
B5 Girl Afraid 2:45
B6 Back To The Old House 3:02
B7 Reel Around The Fountain 5:51
B8 Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want 1:50

Companies, etc.



First issue UK pressing distinguished by gatefold sleeve and Garrod & Lofthouse credit on back cover. Unlike The Smiths - Hatful Of Hollow, lacks ⩓ 84-11 in runouts. Some copies have sticker which states 16 tracks, Maximum R.R.P. £3.99 and "ROUGH 76" in small text at the top.

A2, A4, A6, A8, B2, B6 and B7 from the BBC Radio 1 John Peel Show.
A3, B3 and B4 from the BBC Radio 1 David Jensen Show.
Released by arrangement with BBC Enterprises Ltd.

© 1984 Warner Bros. Music Ltd.
℗ 1984 Rough Trade Records Ltd.
Made in the UK
UK distribution by The Cartel.
Printed and made in Great Britain by Garrod & Lofthouse Ltd

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, variant 1): ROUGH 76 A1 THE IMPOTENCE OF ERNEST <
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, variant 1): ROUGH · 76 · B1 Ian (EIRE) <
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, variant 2): ROUGH 76 A1 THE IMPOTENCE OF ERNEST <
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, variant 2): ROUGH · 76 · B2 Ian (EIRE) <
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, variant 3): ROUGH 76 A1 THE IMPOTENCE OF ERNEST <
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, variant 3): ROUGH · 76 · B3 Ian (EIRE) <
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, variant 4): ROUGH 76 A2 THE IMPOTENCE OF ERNEST <
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, variant 4): ROUGH · 76 · B2 Ian (EIRE)
  • Label Code: LC 5661
  • Barcode: none

Other Versions (5 of 125) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RTRANZ009 The Smiths Hatful Of Hollow(LP, Comp, Gat) Rough Trade RTRANZ009 New Zealand 1985 Sell This Version
450991893-2 The Smiths Hatful Of Hollow(CD, Comp, RP) WEA 450991893-2 Brazil 1997 Sell This Version
2564-66048-7 The Smiths Hatful Of Hollow(CD, Comp, RE, RM) WEA, Warner Music Argentina 2564-66048-7 Argentina 2011 Sell This Version
SMITHS 2, 4509-91893-1 The Smiths Hatful Of Hollow(2x10", Comp, Ltd, Num) WEA, WEA SMITHS 2, 4509-91893-1 UK & Europe 1993 Sell This Version
ROUGH 76 The Smiths Hatful Of Hollow(LP, Comp, RE) Rough Trade ROUGH 76 UK 1987 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 14 Reviews

Add Review



August 10, 2020
This is one great sounding record. These tracks sound excellent. Nice punchy drums and heavy hitting bass. The clarity and separation are also on point giving these songs a nice wide soundstage. The songs here sound a lot better than my US Sire Louder Than Bombs compilation. Everything is crystal clear here including Morrissey’s voice and the overall sound is warm and full. This may be the best I’ve heard The Smiths sound on record next to my Japanese edition of the self titled LP. Anyway, the sound quality on this record is ace. I redcomend.


January 14, 2020
A comprehensive compilation of The Smiths's' hit music, with a high quality of pressing that lifts these compositions to a previously unheard of level of clarity, which is crystal clear. It is certain to make an ideal present for a friend or a loved one in your life, just so long as they are not offended, by Morrissey (the lead singer)'s very racist points of view!!


July 11, 2019
Is it just me, or do the tracks that also appear on "louder then bombs" sound much better on this release?


December 9, 2018
My copy has THE IP[OTENCE OF...] on the side A runout. It's hard to make out the whole phrase but there is definitely no M after the I. In all other respects it's a UK 1st. Any theories?


August 20, 2018
My copy has the misprint and on the inside sleeve the number 99. Nothing about Garrod and Lofthouse, says distributed by the cartel. Matrix rest outs Rough 76 A2 and B1 with Ian (Eire) on the B side.


November 12, 2015
There's also a non gatefold version with a different sleeve. There is only an edited version of the black and white photo with light blue lettering The Smiths Hatful of Hollow and no blue border. Not as nice, in my view.


October 27, 2015
edited over 5 years ago
If you look at the photograph inside the gatefold, you can see they've 'whited out' the two display boards on the wall; they must have contained adverts of some kind, or posters for other bands that Rough Trade didn't want to be visible.


March 7, 2015
My copy appears identical - but blue sticker reads "Rough 76 16 Tracks Including 1983 John Peel + David Jensen Show Sessions, Plus The Hit Singles "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now" "William, It Was Really Nothing" Maximum R.R.P £4.49".


December 2, 2014
This edition does not have 'Printed and made in Great Britain by Garrod & Lofthouse' on back of cover - it's also lighter blue than the very first pressings - it has a corrected sleeve ie dots on back are correct + ref to radio shows is on opposite side of inner sleeve. Matrix runout message is barely readable on my copy but quite clear on my 1st press copy.