The Smiths ‎– Meat Is Murder

Rough Trade (2) ‎– ROUGH 81
Vinyl, LP, Album, Unofficial Release, Blue


A1 The Headmaster Ritual 4:52
A2 Rusholme Ruffians 4:19
A3 I Want The One I Can't Have 3:13
A4 What She Said 2:40
A5 That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore 4:57
B1 Nowhere Fast 2:35
B2 Well I Wonder 4:00
B3 Barbarism Begins At Home 7:00
B4 Meat Is Murder 6:05

Companies, etc.



BLUE vinyl edition.
Has lyric insert.
Recorded at Amazon Studios, Liverpool and Ridge Farm, Surrey.
Mixed at Island Studios, London, Winter 1984.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): ROUGH 81 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): ROUGH 81 B

Other Versions (5 of 110) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ROUGH 81 The Smiths Meat Is Murder(LP, Album, CBS) Rough Trade ROUGH 81 UK 1985 Sell This Version
25RTL-3001 The Smiths Meat Is Murder(LP, Album, Promo) Rough Trade 25RTL-3001 Japan 1985 Sell This Version
WPCR-14542 The Smiths Meat Is Murder(CD, Album, RE, Ltd, RM, SHM) WEA WPCR-14542 Japan 2012 Sell This Version
9 25269-2 The Smiths Meat Is Murder(CD, Album, LON) Sire 9 25269-2 US 1985 Sell This Version
L 30107, ROUGH 81 The Smiths Meat Is Murder(LP, Album, RE) Festival Records, Rough Trade L 30107, ROUGH 81 Australia 1988 Sell This Version



Add Review



December 6, 2015
edited about 1 year ago

i purchased this unofficial pressing in Holland, even though it has uk on label. unfortunately, after doing Spectral Analysis, the source is MP3 so if you're into collecting coloured Smiths vinyls, fine but if sound quality is a must then stick with the CD / Original Vinyl release. Check Spectrogram here: