The Stanshawe (Bristol) Band* ‎– Sounds of Brass Series

Decca ‎– SB 322, Sounds Of Brass ‎– SB 322
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Thievish Magpie
Composed By – Gioacchino Rossini
A2 Hava Na Gila
A3 Berceuse De Jocelyn
Composed By – Benjamin GodardSoloist – John Maines
A4 Finale, Themes From Symphony No. 5
Arranged By – Eric BallComposed By – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
B1 Valse, Gold & Silver
Composed By – Franz Lehár
B2 Polka From The Bartered Bride
Composed By – Bedřich Smetana
B3 Grandfathers Clock
Soloist – Lyndon Howard Baglin
B4 Overture - The Frogs (of Aristophanes)
Composed By – Granville Bantock



The Stanshawe (Bristol) Band The Band was formed in 1968 and from the outset .was fortunate in having a nucleus of highly experienced instrumentalists who had long demonstrated their virtuosity. With this advantage the Band soon acquired a shape, and playing texture, which ensured its progress In both the competitive field and as a concert aggregation of true merit. It was fortunate in acquiring the services of W. B. Hargreaves, Professor of French Horn and Cornet at the Royal Marines School of Music, Deal as its professional conductor. Acknowledged as one of the foremost tutors of brass instrumentation in Britain the Band made remarkable progress under his direction. In the intervening years it has gone a long way towards establishing itself as one of the most consistent bands amongst the ‘top crust’ of the Championship Grade. In the competitive sphere it has notched up notable successes at the National Brass Band Championships of Great Britain at both the regional and ’all-Britain’ levels. It also gained the top award at the Edinburgh Festival Championships in 1972. lt is marked by its successes at the significant contests presented at Belle Vue, Manchester. By its model consistency on both the competitive and concert platforms it has established a reputation of rare quality. in the highly exacting realm of public entertainment.

Professional Conductor: W.. B. HARGREAVES
Resident Musical Director: BRIAN HOWARD

Principal Cornet - David Thomas
Solo Cornet - Ian Dickenson, Ralph Rowden, Jonathan Griffin, John Peake
Soprano Cornet - Graham Yeo
Flugel Horn - Roy Jennings
Repiano Cornet - David Jones
2nd Cornet - Ted Walker
3rd Cornet - Martyn Coward
Solo Horn - David Williams
1st Horn - Kevin Ford
2nd Horn - Maurice Craze
Solo Euphonium - Lyndon Baglin
2nd Euphonium - Roger Thomson
1st Baritone - Terry Jennings
2nd Baritone - Gavin Baker
Principal Trombone - John Maines
2nd Trombone - David Alderman
Bass Trombone - Ken Williams
Eb Bass - Derek Horsfall, Ken Laurens
Bb Bass - Robert Milsom, Ken Haggett
Percussion - Terry O'Brien