The Sugarcubes ‎– Here Today, Tomorrow Next Week!

One Little Indian ‎– tplp15cd
CD, Album


1 Tidal Wave 2:56
2 Regina 4:05
3 Speed Is The Key 3:18
4 Dream TV 3:12
5 Nail 3:18
6 Pump 4:25
7 Eat The Menu 3:44
8 Bee 2:26
9 Dear Plastic 3:23
10 Shoot Him 2:10
11 Water 3:01
12 A Day Called Zero 2:38
13 Planet 3:23
14 Hey 3:22
15 Dark Disco 1 3:01
16 Hot Meat 3:16



Tracks 14 to 16 don't appear on LP. 'Hot Meat' is a reworking of 'Coldsweat' from the first LP; was the b-side of 'Regina'; and is not to be confused w/'Coldsweat (Meat Mix)'.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5016958004323
  • Matrix / Runout: SONOPRESS D-0050 / TPLP15CD A

Other Versions (5 of 64) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
767.9103 The Sugarcubes Here Today, Tomorrow Next Week!(Cass, Album) WEA Discos Ltda. 767.9103 Brazil 1989 Sell This Version
RTD-125 The Sugarcubes Here Today, Tomorrow Next Week!(LP, Album, Promo, W/Lbl) Rough Trade RTD-125 Germany 1989 Sell This Version
60860 The Sugarcubes Here Today, Tomorrow Next Week!(LP, Album, TP) Elektra 60860 US 1989 Sell This Version
CD 60860 The Sugarcubes Here Today, Tomorrow Next Week!(CD, Album) Elektra CD 60860 Canada 1989 Sell This Version
tplp15cdL Sykurmolarnir* Illur Arfur!(CD, Album) One Little Indian tplp15cdL UK 1989 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 12, 2013
edited over 5 years ago
I happen to fall in love with them after I heard "Hit". A song that suddenly made me a fan enough to discover the beauty that is "Life's Too Good". Many prefer stating most groups deal with the curse of the second album - and The Sugarcubes were no exception to that rule; they tried and in a way they failed. Their choice of failure was, they didn't go silently. And "second best" is something that just doesn't work oh this album. Musically speaking, it is wild and playful indeed - but vocally... well, depending on your personal (dis)infatuation with both, Björk and - especially - Einar Örn's vocal theatrics, this is either pure treat or pure torture. In case of the most of what is "Here Today, Tomorrow Next week", I will sadly go for the latter.

At the time of this album's release, I heard The Sugarcubes for the very first time - the media were so raving about them, "Regina" was all over some regional radio and TV station programmes. I couldn't stand its guts then and still have trouble coming to terms with it now.

Although he is not alone to blame for ruining a musically potent material (the song title "Shoot him" says it all though), I believe, I am not the only one pointing out Einar Örn's out-of-tune contributions (and occasional trumpet is of no help either) here as the album's eventual main problem. His voice is so squeezed into song's every pore, to the extent of never really having patience left to listen to this album start to finish. The opener "Tidal Wave" practically doesn't even start and there they both are - screaming mouths wide open, devouring helpless music like two big drunk whales blaming eachother for ending up being trapped in shallow water. Of course, the group's "mistake" to be as avant-garde as fuck on this album, was to some extent successfully avoided on "Stick Around For Joy". However, "Here Today's" dreadful echo probably harmed them more than they thought it did.

Still some of the songs remain - "A Day Called Zero" is a nice demonstration of energetic, spacy orchestral dance music... the restless "Water" is also an experiment well worth of listeners' attention, while "Planet" alone is one such beautiful moment of salvation. The rest is a mixed bag of oddities. If there is a vocal definition of "this and that", a duet of Björk and Einar Örn here pars the definition so perfectly.