The United States Of America ‎– The United States Of America

Columbia ‎– CS 9614
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo, Terre Haute Pressing


A1 The American Metaphysical Circus 4:55
A2 Hard Coming Love 4:43
A3 Cloud Song 3:18
A4 The Garden Of Earthly Delights 2:39
A5 I Won't Leave My Wooden Wife For You, Sugar 3:52
B1 Where Is Yesterday 3:07
B2 Coming Down 2:40
B3 Love Song For The Dead Ché 3:25
B4 Stranded In Time 1:50
B5 The American Way Of Love 6:38

Companies, etc.



Initial copies of this LP came inside a brown paper wrapper
with the artist's name stamped on it.

This version has "The selections are Blackwood Music, Inc. (BMI)" printed in lower right corner of back cover.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A - Runout (Machine Stamped)): XSM135627-1B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B - Runout (Machine Stamped)): XSM135628-1B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A - Runout (Machine Stamped)): XSM135627-1C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B - Runout (Machine Stamped)): XSM135628-1C
  • Matrix / Runout (Both Sides (Hand Etched)): T1
  • Rights Society: BMI


Reviews Show All 7 Reviews

Add Review



January 16, 2020

Such a masterpiece - a total must listen for psych / art rock fans


March 30, 2019
I have read that the CD releases in 2004 cut out some of the more 'disagreeable' lyrics.
Is there a CD version with the original material completely intact, and also containing the bonus tracks, or is it only possible to get one or the other?
Or, is it only unedited on original vinyl pressings?
Any info will be appreciated. Thanks


August 5, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
Amazing and iconic 60's psychedelica. It succinctly captures the true essence of psych music. It sounds as relevant today as it did when it was released. The album has stellar production values. Every listen makes my ears horny. Essential!


July 30, 2010
edited over 10 years ago

The late 60's saw a massive explosion of psychedelic rock music, both in the US and UK. While a few bands became household names, most faded quickly to be forgotten before the decade had even ended.

One band who never really made it big (but have constantly maintained a cult following) are The United States Of America. This, their eponymous debut album, still manages to sound relevant over 40 years after release.

Things start off oddly. What sounds like a music box pipes up, then a honky tonk piano, then a full military band. All at once. This cacophony gets louder and louder until, just as it becomes unbearable, it all dissolves away and the most trippy, lucid female vocal comes in over odd electronic noise. Her voice begins to crackle. It sounds as if it's slowly distorting into a void. Is this your imagination? Not quite. You're discovering (and will continue to discover over the course of the LP) that all is not as it first appears.

Then the second track, Hard Coming Love, hits (and I mean HITS) in. You know the intro to Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas (the movie)? While this was not the track featured, this is exactly the vibe you will get. Jefferson Airplane meets Shocking Blue in late 60's black & white striped dress hipster girl heaven.

Cloud Song drifts in after all this sexy groove. And drift it does. Beautiful, ethereal. It features a harp. But that's GOOD.

The Garden Of Earthly Delights brings back a freakout of pure adrenalin then...

You know what? Just get this album. You will hear incredible electronic sounds. You will discover why bands like Portishead & Broadcast sound like they do. You will want to discover more psychedelic music from the same period.

An inspired album.