The Waterboys ‎– This Is The Sea

Island Records ‎– 90457-1, Island Records ‎– 7 90457-1
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Don't Bang The Drum
Bass – Karl WallingerDrums – Chris WhittenPerformer [Oysters] – DelahayeSaxophone – Anthony ThistlethwaiteTrumpet – Roddy LorimerVocals, Electric Guitar, Piano, Twelve-String Guitar [Bellzouki] – Mike Scott
A2 The Whole Of The Moon
Backing Vocals – Max*Drums – Chris WhittenPercussion – Martin DitchamSaxophone – Anthony ThistlethwaiteSynthesizer, Bass, Backing Vocals – Karl WallingerTrumpet, Piccolo Flute – Roddy LorimerVocals, Piano, Electric Guitar – Mike Scott
A3 Spirit
Double Bass, Saxophone – Anthony ThistlethwaiteMaracas [Marraccas], Guitar Synthesizer, Marimba, Violin, Trumpet – Karl WallingerVocals, Piano – Mike Scott
A4 The Pan Within
Bass, Drums – Karl WallingerViolin – Steven Wickham*Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Piano – Mike Scott
B1 Medicine Bow
Bass – Lu EdmondsBrass – The Little Big HornsDrums – Kevin WilkinsonVocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Piano – Mike Scott
B2 Old England
Bass, Harmonium [Synthesised] – Karl WallingerSaxophone – Anthony ThistlethwaiteSnare – Pete ThomasVocals, Piano, Bells – Mike Scott
B3 Be My Enemy
Bass – Mathew Seligman*Drums – Kevin WilkinsonPiano – Karl WallingerSaxophone – Anthony ThistlethwaiteVocals, Electric Guitar – Mike Scott
B4 Trumpets
Celesta [Celeste] – Karl WallingerSaxophone – Anthony ThistlethwaiteVocals, Piano – Mike Scott
B5 This Is The Sea
Brass – Anthony Thistlethwaite, Roddy LorimerPerformer [Oysters] – DelahayePiano – Karl WallingerTambourine – The Golden AgersViolin – Marek LipskiVocals, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar – Mike Scott

Companies, etc.



Catalog # 90457-1 appears on the jacket and label, #7 90457-1 appears on the spine

This is the DMM (Direct Metal Mastering) version

Recorded in England March-July 1985 at: Amazon, Park Gates, The Townhouse, Townhouse 3, Livingston 1 & 2, The Workhouse, R.G. Jones, Power Plant, Seaviiew, the Chocolate Factory, Good Earth.

℗ © 1985 Ensign Records Ltd.
All songs published by Dizzy Heights Music Publ. Ltd. (MCPS) except:
A1 published by Dizzy Heights Music Publ. Ltd. (MCPS) Welk Music Ltd

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7567-90457-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Label A Side): ST-IL-855755-SP
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B Side): ST-IL-855756-SP
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A etched ): ST IL-855755A DMM Europadisk NY SP 0-2 M1 SF1 SM 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B etched ): ST IL-855756A DMM Europadisk NY SP 0-15W2-1M1 SF1 SM1
  • Rights Society: MCPS
  • Pressing Plant ID (Embossed around center hole B side): E _ _ T

Other Versions (5 of 74) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ENCL 5 The Waterboys This Is The Sea(LP, Album) Ensign ENCL 5 UK 1985 Sell This Version
R25D-2015 The Waterboys This Is The Sea(LP, Album) Island Records, Ensign, Polystar R25D-2015 Japan 1985 Sell This Version
ENCL 5 The Waterboys This Is The Sea(LP, Album) Ensign, Island Records ENCL 5 Italy 1985 Sell This Version
ENCL5, VG 71423 The Waterboys This Is The Sea(LP, Album) Ensign, Virgin ENCL5, VG 71423 Greece 1985 Sell This Version
610534 The Waterboys This Is The Sea(CD, Album) Island Records 610534 Germany 1985 Sell This Version