The White Stripes ‎– Elephant

XL Recordings ‎– XLCD 162, Playground Music Scandinavia ‎– XLCD 162
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Seven Nation Army 3:51
2 Black Math 3:03
3 There's No Home For You Here 3:43
4 I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself
Written-By – B. Bacharach & H. David*
5 In The Cold, Cold Night 2:58
6 I Want To Be The Boy To Warm Your Mother's Heart 3:20
7 You've Got Her In Your Pocket 3:39
8 Ball And Biscuit 7:19
9 The Hardest Button To Button 3:32
10 Little Acorns
Voice [Intro] – Mort Crim
11 Hypnotize 1:48
12 The Air Near My Fingers 3:40
13 Girl, You Have No Faith In Medicine 3:17
14 Well It's True That We Love One Another
Vocals [Special Guest] – Holly Golightly

Companies, etc.



All songs on this record recorded to eight track reel to reel at Toe-Rag Studios, Hackney, London, England in April 2002 except Track 4 recorded at the BBC Maida Vale Studio.

P 2003 XL Recordings Ltd under exclusive license from Third Man Recordings
C 2003 XL Recordings Ltd under exclusive license from Third Man Recordings.

Issue under license from XL Recordings Ltd by Playground Music for Scandinavia and the Baltic States.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 34904 01622 7
  • Label Code: LC 05667
  • Matrix / Runout: A377010-01
  • Matrix / Runout (Text): manufactured by optimal media production
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L571
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 9702

Other Versions (5 of 44) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
63881-27148-1 The White Stripes Elephant(LP, Whi + LP, Red + Album) V2 63881-27148-1 US 2003 Sell This Version
63881-27148-1 The White Stripes Elephant(CD, MP) V2 63881-27148-1 UK 2003 Sell This Version
63881-27148-2 The White Stripes Elephant(CD, Album) Third Man Records, V2, Rock (HK) Co. Ltd. 63881-27148-2 Hong Kong 2003 Sell This Version
SON 181 The White Stripes Elephant(CD, Album) Sonic Records (2) SON 181 Poland 2003 Sell This Version
TMR200 The White Stripes Elephant(2xLP, Album, RE, RP) Third Man Records TMR200 US 2013 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 12, 2017
' No computers were used during the writing, recording, mixing or mastering of this record. This communication in the booklet of the fourth cd Elephant by The White Stripes the U.S. says a lot about the music and the vision of this unusual duo. Singer/guitarist Jack and drummer Meg White are in many ways the precursors to the series of garage rock bands (The Strokes, The Hives) that a new form of primitive rock. Their minimalist approach translates into an extremely rudimentary band sound and a simple but effective visual presentation, which is based on the clean lines and basic colors of the painter Mondrian. Elephant is the first album after the international break-through album White Blood Cells (2001). Also this time prove The White Stripes of their generation enjoyed the most part of the long American musical tradition of countryblues, folk, rock 'n' roll and even Brill Buildingpop, what the cover I Just Don't Know What To Do by Burt Bacharach. These styles of for the computer age with the furious energy of the punk rock again brought to life, what the success of The White Stripes fully justifies.