The Whitstone Male Voice Choir ‎– The Whitstone Male Voice Choir

Sentinel (3) ‎– SEN.LPP.501, Sentinel (3) ‎– SENS LPP 501
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo, Mono

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 That Beautiful Land
A2 Jacob's Ladder
A3 Kum By Yah
Written-By – Trad*
A4 The Old Woman
A5 Look Away To Heaven
Written-By – Rodeheaver*
A6 Little Tommy
A7 When I Survey
A8 Mary Don't You Weep
Written-By – Rodeheaver*
A9 When Evening's Twilight
B1 Sweet Bye & Bye
B2 Calm Is The Sea
B3 Church In The Wildwood
Written-By – William Pitts
B4 Carry Me Back
B5 He's The Lily Of The Valley
Written-By – Trad*
B6 I Am Listening
Written-By – Rodeheaver*
B7 Do'an' A Cry, Ma Honey
B8 Evening Pastoral

Companies, etc.


The record label has both sides as Stereo Mono so there is presumably a mixture of recorded tracks
The choir featured on this recording was formed in January 1948 and still retained most of the original members. It gave performances throughout Cornwall, Devon and parts of Somerset.
Rather than adding artists to the database that will only appear on this record I have listed them here.
1st Tenors: Jack Rees, Desmond Martyn, Tom Short.
2nd Tenors: Ted Short, Ron Dymond.
1st Bass: Dick Slee, Wilfred Woodley.
2nd Bass: Jack Sargent, George Mitchell, Claude Cholwill.
Choirmaster: Wilfred Woodley.
Accompanist: Denzil Blackman.

Tracks A4 performers are credited as (Quartet). Jack Rees, Ted Short, Claude Cholwill, Wilfred Woodley
& B3 performers are (Quartet). Jack Rees, Ted Short, Jack Sargent, Wilfred Woodley.

Produced by the private records division of Sentinel Records, Penzance, England.
Made in England.

Other song credits: A1 White/Rock/James; A2 Davies; A3 A4 Robertson/Campbell; A5 Rodeheaver arr. Herbert; A6 Macy; A7 Watts/Jones; A9 Hatton
B1 Protheroe/Bennett; B2 Camp/Guard; B4 James Black; B5 Trad ar. Emrys Jones; B7 A. W. Noll; B8 Ayrton/Stow.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: Runout A: SENLPP501A-1△W
  • Matrix / Runout: Runout B: SENLPP501B-1△W