Theatre Of Tragedy ‎– Aégis

Swanlake Records ‎– MAS CD0159
CD, Album


1 Cassandra 6:48
2 Lorelei 5:37
3 Angélique 5:45
4 Aœde 6:10
5 Siren 7:29
6 Venus 5:33
7 Poppæa 5:47
8 Bacchante 6:43

Companies, etc.



Comes with 16-page booklet (+ promotion foldout) with all lyrics.

(P) & (C) 1998 Massacre Records

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 4 028466 101594
  • Barcode (Reader): 4028466101594
  • Label Code: LC 6398
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L357
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 5229
  • Matrix / Runout: MAS CD 0159
  • Other: IRS 972.444

Other Versions (5 of 35) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MAS CD0159 Theatre Of Tragedy Aégis(CDr, Album, Unofficial) Swanlake Records (2) MAS CD0159 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
AMG 060 Theatre Of Tragedy Aégis(CD, Album) Art Music Group AMG 060 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
MAS LP0159 Theatre Of Tragedy Aégis(LP, Album, Ltd, Pic) Swanlake Records MAS LP0159 Germany 1998 Sell This Version
MAS CD0159 Theatre Of Tragedy Aégis(CD, Album, RP) Swanlake Records MAS CD0159 Germany Unknown Sell This Version
MAS DP0159 Theatre Of Tragedy Aégis(CD, Album, Ltd, Dig) Swanlake Records MAS DP0159 Germany 1998 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



October 26, 2015
With this third album, the norvegian band reinveted themselves with a more atmospheric sound, turning from doom metal into a more gothic rock oriented approach.
Harsh male vocals are less frequently used, giving space for clean deep vocals. Heavy guitar riffs also leave room for delicate twelve-strings guitar melodies, as frequently heard in gothic bands. Also, piano and strings tend to turn into hypnotizing floating keyboards layers and heavenly sounds.
Not trying to copy cult 4AD 80's indie dark bands like This Mortal Coil, Clan of Xymox, Dead can Dance, Cocteau Twins and so on, although their influence can be heard on this album, Theatre of Tragedy recreated a sound of their own with Aégis that sounds like nothing else than itself.
The result is a collection of songs wrapped with captivating melancholy where the beautiful voice of Liv Kristine appears more versatile and confident than before but still astonishingly beautiful, spontaneous and innocent.
To me, Aégis is their most beautiful album and their greatest artistic achievement.