Thelonious Monk Septet ‎– Monk's Music

Original Jazz Classics ‎– OJCCD-084-2, Riverside Records ‎– RLP-242
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered


1 Abide With Me 0:54
2 Well, You Needn't 11:26
3 Ruby, My Dear 5:26
4 Off Minor (Take 5) 5:09
5 Off Minor (Take 4) 5:16
6 Epistrophy 10:47
7 Crepuscule With Nellie (Take 6) 4:40
8 Crepuscule With Nellie (Takes 4 And 5) (Stereo) 4:46

Companies, etc.



Recorded in New York; June 26, 1957.

("Abide with Me" is played by trumpet and saxes only; "Ruby, My Dear" by Hawkins and rhythm section only.)

A High Fidelity Recording - Riverside Reeve Spectrosonic High Fidelity Engineering (Audio Compensation: RIAA Curve).

Digitally remastered directly from the original analog master tapes, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA.

Tracks 5 & 8: Additional tracks not on original LP release.

Made in Germany.

Jewel case, black tray, 4-page front inlay.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: none
  • Label Code: LC 0325
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Matrix / Runout: OJC CD 084-2-P+O-0738-B-11-87

Other Versions (5 of 59) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RLP 12-242 Thelonious Monk Septet Monk's Music(LP, Album, Mono) Riverside Records RLP 12-242 US 1957 Sell This Version
GSLP 7023, GSLP 7203 Thelonious Monk Monk's Music(LP) Gateway Records, Gateway Records GSLP 7023, GSLP 7203 US 1977 Sell This Version
RLP 12-242, 088072357778, OJC-084 Thelonious Monk Septet Monk's Music(LP, Album, RE, 180) Riverside Records, Universal Music Group International, Original Jazz Classics RLP 12-242, 088072357778, OJC-084 Europe 2014 Sell This Version
OJC 084, RLP-242 Thelonious Monk Septet Monk's Music(LP, Album, RE) Original Jazz Classics, Riverside Records OJC 084, RLP-242 Germany 1983 Sell This Version
OJC-32689-02 Thelonious Monk Monk's Music(CD, RM) Original Jazz Classics OJC-32689-02 US 2011 Sell This Version