Theo Parrish ‎– Extended Boundaries

Nu Horizons ‎– NUHCD001
CD, Compilation, Mixed, Unofficial Release

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 DJ Genesis Back In The Middle (Theo Parrish Remix)
Remix – Theo Parrish
2 Anne Clark Our Darkness
3 Armando 151
4 Loose Joints Is It All Over My Face?
5 The Jackson 5 Forever Came Today
6 Aquarian Dream (2) You're A Star
7 LTG Exchange Waterbed
8 DJ Kent In The Bush (Theo's #2)
Remix – Theo Parrish
9 Theo Parrish Friendly Children
10 Block 16 Find An Oasis
11 Lil' Louis How I Feel
12 Peven Everett I Can't Believe I Loved Her
13 De La Soul Stakes Is High
14 Theo Parrish Timeislafinacharunninout



No tracklist, release date or country of release given.
No track indices, just one continuous track. Total time: 72:58.


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 3, 2015

Would love to know if that's a Theo edit of Loose Joints. Want it bad.


May 30, 2009
First of all, this is the first Theo Parrish mix I have heard, so unfortunately I cannot compare it to other sets he has done.

Overall, it is quite a weird mix of tracks; not your traditional house mix. If you've read any interviews of Theo Parrish, you know he's set on spinning music that he likes without paying much attention to genres--bringing something different to the table, you know? As a result, Parrish has chosen some gems from his collection. One moment some very stripped minimal acid from Lil' Louis, the next some nice funky disco classics, then strange 80's new wave paranoia, and then some De La Soul...

And it's interspersed with some of the weirdest of Parrish's tracks/remixes I've heard, which tend to be more deep cerebral experiments than straight-up dancefloor fillers. This is what I like most about this mix. "Timeislafinacharunninout" at the end is probably my favorite part! The track features interweaving grooves and loops that kind of sound like when you're between two frequencies on the radio, picking up two stations at once... only they're perfectly in synch.

As nice as the individual tracks are, the biggest weakness of this release are the transitions. Some are very jarring, and understandably. Many of the types of music are much too different to smoothly blend together. In my opinion, it's tough making a transition between singer/songwriter-type R & B to deep, repetitive house music so I give him credit. Though, I would have to listen to more of his sets... Maybe that's just how he DJs. Maybe he says, "Screw the transitions!". Maybe he doesn't.

I'd say this mix works best when not listened to as a DJ mix, but instead pretend that Theo Parrish personally made you a mixtape with some of his favorite songs. I think you will enjoy it best in this mindset.

Also, thanks to the submitters for making the track titles known!