They Might Be Giants ‎– Severe Tire Damage

Restless Records ‎– 0187772965-2, Restless Records ‎– 0187772965-2
CD, Compilation, Club Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Doctor Worm
Bass – Erik SankoDrums – Zak Alford*Percussion – Mauro RefoscoProducer – Pat Dillett*, They Might Be Giants, Tom DurackTrumpet – Mark Pender
2 Severe Tire Damage Theme 0:39
3 They Got Lost 3:42
4 Why Does The Sun Shine? (The Sun Is A Mass Of Incandescent Gas)
Written-By – Hy Zaret, Lou Singer*
5 Birdhouse In Your Soul
Trombone – Randy Andos
6 She's An Angel 3:20
7 XTC Vs. Adam Ant 3:39
8 Istanbul (Not Constantinople)
Written-By – J. Kennedy*, N. Simon*
9 Ana Ng 3:00
10 First Kiss 1:35
11 Spider 0:52
12 Particle Man 2:09
13 She's Actual Size 2:16
14 S-E-X-X-Y 3:06
15 Meet James Ensor
Recorded By – Kevin Cole (3)
16 Till My Head Falls Off 2:51
17 About Me 3:01
18 Ape Cycle: Planet Of The Apes
Vibraphone – Diana Harold
19 Ape Cycle: Return To The Planet Of The Apes 2:45
20 Ape Cycle: Conquest Of The Planet Of The Apes 1:40
21 Ape Cycle: Escape From The Planet Of The Apes 1:08
22 Ape Cycle: Battle For The Planet Of The Apes 1:56
23 Ape Cycle: Beneath The Planet Of The Apes 2:00
24 Ape Cycle: This Ape's For You 1:14

Companies, etc.



They Might Be Giants' first live album.
Mastered as Sterling Sound NYC.

"Recorded at Pachyderm Studio in Cannon Falls, MN for 'Live at Pachyderm' radio series, and from various stages in New York, NY; St. Louis, MO; Toronto, Canada and Newark, DE. [Tracks] 1, 2, and 17 were not recorded live, but tracked like regular studio recordings. 'Meet James Ensor' was recorded sitting on the floor of the Paramount Hotel in NYC by Kevin Cole for REV 105. [Tracks] 18-24 were created spontaneously, live on stage."

Tracks 18 to 24 are semi-hidden tracks. They are not listed on the back cover, and they begin after a few minutes of silence at the end of track 17. Collectively, the songs are sometimes referred to as "The Ape Cycle". The individual titles here are somewhat unofficial and assumed; all but track 24 match the titles of Planet of the Apes films or television shows.

All songs published by TMBG Music BMI, admin. Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. except "Doctor Worm", "Severe Tire Damage Theme", "They Got Lost", "First Kiss", and "About Me" published by TMBG Music BMI; and "Why Does The Sun Shine?" published by Argosy Music Corp. ASCAP; and "Istanbul (Not Constantinople)" published by Chappell & Co. ASCAP.

℗© 1998 TMB Productions, licensed exclusively to Restless Records

Hub code: "72965-2"

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: D 125565

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
72965-2, 01877 72965-2 They Might Be Giants Severe Tire Damage(CD, Album, Comp, Liv) Restless Records, Restless Records 72965-2, 01877 72965-2 US 1998 Sell This Version
COOK CD 156 They Might Be Giants Severe Tire Damage(CD, Album) Cooking Vinyl COOK CD 156 UK 1998 Sell This Version
01143-1096-2, 01143-1096-2 They Might Be Giants Severe Tire Damage(CD, Album, RE) Zoë Records, Idlewild Recordings 01143-1096-2, 01143-1096-2 US 2006 Sell This Version
2676-2 They Might Be Giants Severe Tire Damage(CD, Album, RE) Sum Records (2) 2676-2 Brazil Unknown Sell This Version
D31890 They Might Be Giants Severe Tire Damage(CD, Album) Cooking Vinyl, Festival Records D31890 Australia & New Zealand 1998 Sell This Version