Thievery Corporation ‎– Radio Retaliation

CD, Album, Promo


1 Sound The Alarm 3:41
2 Mandala 4:00
3 Radio Retaliation 3:27
4 Vampires 4:57
5 Hare Krsna 3:28
6 El Pueblo Unido 3:35
7 (The Forgotten People) 3:11
8 33 Degree 3:48
9 Beautiful Drug 3:27
10 La Femme Parallel 4:29
11 Retaliation Suite 2:54
12 The Numbers Game 3:02
13 The Shining Path 3:38
14 Blasting Through The City 3:31
15 Sweet Tides 4:48



Comes in a heavy paperboard sleeve.

©℗ 2008 ESL Music

Credits are taken from the final release.



Add Review



September 19, 2014

The Thievery Corporation have increasingly included political themes in their music and this is protest music. The lyrics "Order the attack, Selassie Soldiers beat Babylon Back" does as the track name suggests "Sound The Alarm" as the album opens and in the title track, Radio Retaliation, the manifesto is pretty clear as they declare they're "Waking Up the Nation". Mandala uses the familiar Indian theme but with a rougher edge than usual for this genre. Good start out of the blocks but then Vampires, Hare Krsna and El Pueblo Unido didn't grab me and seemed to lack something. The Forgotten People got my attention again with it's Indian Vibes rocking a steady beat. 33 Degree reminded me of Massive Attack with Tricky and Beautiful Drug is pleasant enough. Le Femme Parallel adds the sultry French vibe that touches most of their work somewhere and Retaliation Suit is mellow Jazz number (giving a nod to the Freedom Suites that were so prevalent during the Civil rights movement), except with some not so mellow words being spoken. It then gets funky with the "Numbers Game" number and "The Shining Path" before "Blasting Through the City" returns to the sound of Richest man in Babylon. "Sweet Tides" is indeed a sweet end to the album. After Vampires, I started to get slightly disappointed, maybe I was expecting too much. I think TC have improved their sound from album to album up until the Cosmic Game which was extraordinary, but I think this album is as much about the message and perhaps the music suffered a little in parts. I don't have any thing against politically fuelled music but am just not enjoying the sonic experience as much as in their previous albums. That said this is still a good album, there's some great stuff on here, definitely worth a listen and a must have for any Thievery Corporation fans.