This Mortal Coil ‎– It'll End In Tears

ORG Music ‎– ORGM-1002, 4AD ‎– ORGM-1002
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered, White, 180g

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Kangaroo
Acoustic Guitar, Bass, Synthesizer [Dx7] – Simon RaymondeCello – Martin McGarrick*Vocals – Gordon SharpWritten-By – Alex Chilton
A2 Song To The Siren
Guitar – Robin GuthrieVocals – Elizabeth FraserWritten-By – Tim Buckley
A3 Holocaust
Cello – Martin McGarrick*Piano – Steven YoungViola, Violin – Gini BallVocals – Howard DevotoWritten-By – Alex Chilton
A4 Fyt
Organ – Mark CoxSynthesizer – Martyn YoungWritten-By – This Mortal Coil
A5 Fond Affections
Bass, Guitar, Synthesizer – Martyn YoungSynthesizer [Dx7] – Mark CoxVocals – Gordon SharpWritten-By – Rema-Rema
A6 The Last Ray
Acoustic Guitar, Guitar [6 & 12-string, E-bow] – Simon RaymondeGuitar – Robin GuthrieWritten-By – Ivo*, R. Guthrie*, S. Raymonde*
B1 Another Day
Cello, Arranged By [Strings] – Martin McGarrick*Viola, Violin – Gini BallVocals – Elizabeth FraserWritten-By – Roy Harper
B2 Waves Become Wings
Accordion, Vocals, Written-By – Lisa Gerrard
B3 Barramundi
Accordion [Looped] – Lisa GerrardGuitar, Synthesizer [Dx7] – Simon RaymondeWritten-By – S. Raymonde*
B4 Dreams Made Flesh
Percussion [Bass Drone], Drums [Drum] – Brendan PerryVocals, Dulcimer [Yang T'chin], Written-By – Lisa Gerrard
B5 Not Me
Bass – Simon RaymondeGuitar – Manuela Rickers, Robin GuthrieVocals – Robbie GreyWritten-By – Colin Newman
B6 A Single Wish
Piano – Steven YoungSynthesizer [Dx7], Performer [Gizmo] – Simon RaymondeVocals – Gordon SharpWritten-By – G. Sharp*, S. Raymonde*, S. Young*


  • Artwork By [Sleeves] – 23 Envelope
  • Co-producer, Performer [Additional Loops, Instruments, Incidentals], EngineerJohn Fryer
  • Producer, Performer [Additional Loops, Instruments, Incidentals]Ivo*


Remastered from original master tapes.

Pressed on heavy-weight European vinyl.

Ltd white vinyl edition of 500 copies in gatefold sleeve.

This edition is dedicated to Elizabeth Fraser and Lisa Gerrard.

Writers and Publishers has been switched between Side A and B on labels.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 093624958864
  • Barcode (Text): 0 93624 95886 4

Other Versions (5 of 51) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CAD 411 This Mortal Coil It'll End In Tears(LP, Album) 4AD CAD 411 UK 1984 Sell This Version
AN99-0416 This Mortal Coil It'll End In Tears(CD, Album, RE, Unofficial) ArsNova AN99-0416 Russia 1999 Sell This Version
CAD 411 This Mortal Coil It'll End In Tears(LP, Album) 4AD, Virgin CAD 411 Italy 1984 Sell This Version
628505 This Mortal Coil It'll End In Tears(LP, Album) Edisom, Lda. 628505 Portugal 1985 Sell This Version
70 291 This Mortal Coil It'll End In Tears(LP, Album) 4AD, Virgin 70 291 France 1984 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



September 17, 2013
This is a very nice re-pressing. It uses the same artwork scheme and remaster that was used for the HDCD box set. The 180-gram vinyl is of high quality (very quiet in dead wax, nice dynamic range). It also includes a postcard advertising similar reissues for the other two TMC LPs, but unfortunately it seems the other two are not coming. I'm not sure what happened there, but it must have been a lack of funding to keep the project going. It's really too bad because -- despite how great the remastered CDs sound -- TMC sound best on vinyl. Ivo segmented each side of vinyl on the double-LPs to work as four distinct sides, an artistic touch that is lost on CD.

On a side note, this pressing claims to be the first time this album has been released on vinyl in the USA. While that would have been true for the other two LPs, It'll End in Tears was actually released in 1984 via the Atlantic sub-label Valentino, making it one of the very few early 4AD releases to be released in the UK and the USA at the same time. The only other examples I can think of would be a couple of Modern English albums that were released on Sire, and a Colourbox EP that was issued by A&M (but apparently only as a promo).