Thomas Dolby ‎– The Golden Age Of Wireless

Harvest ‎– ST-12203
Vinyl, LP, Album, Winchester Pressing

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Europa And The Pirate Twins
Backing Vocals – Les ChappellHarmonica – Andy PartridgePercussion [Electronic] – TMDR*
A2 Flying North
Backing Vocals – Les ChappellDrum Programming – TMDR*Guitar – Dave BirchPercussion [Backwards] – Justin Hildreth
A3 Weightless
Backing Vocals – James Allen, Judy Evans, Lene LovichVocals [Monk] – Bruce Woolley, Dave Birch, TMDR*
A4 Leipzig
Synthesizer – Thomas DolbyViolin – Tim Kerr (2)
A5 Windpower
Bass [Leadline], Flute – Simon LloydDrum Programming – TMDR*Voice [Shipping Forcast] – John Marsh
B1 Commercial Breakup
Lyrics By – Thomas DolbyMusic By – Thomas Dolby, Tim Kerr (2)
B2 Urges
Percussion – Andy PartridgeSynthesizer – Thomas Dolby
B3 Airwaves
Backing Vocals – Bruce Woolley
B4 Radio Silence
Backing Vocals – Bruce Woolley, Dave Birch, James Allen, Judy EvansPercussion – Bosco (3)Voice [Mantra] – Lene Lovich
B5 Cloudburst At Shingle Street
Vocals [Operatics] – Lene Lovich, Les Chappell

Companies, etc.



Pre-"She Blinded Me With Science" version. Has 2 rare tracks: "Leipzig" and "Urges" (both from 1981), the 7" version of "Airwaves", plus the original, rock version of "Radio Silence". The center label contains the catalog number 12R6051 screened in a decorative typeface next to the Venice In Peril logo. That number belongs to the 1981 UK 12" of 'Europa and the Pirate Twins', on the Parlophone label. The front sleeve photo for this album originally appeared on that single.

Recorded at Tapestry Studios, London, Aosis Studios, London & Playground Studios, London.

Release date note: This initial issue of the album (Harvest ST-12203) was reviewed in the June 5, 1982 issue of Billboard magazine.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, Etched): ST-1-12203 F-5 [winchester etching] A Wally
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, Etched): ST-2-12203 F-2 [winchester etching] A Wally
  • Matrix / Runout (Both Sides, Stamped): MASTERED BY CAPITOL
  • Barcode: 0 7777-12203-1

Other Versions (5 of 67) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
VIP1001, OC 062-07 607 Thomas Dolby The Golden Age Of Wireless(LP, Album) Venice In Peril Records, Venice In Peril Records VIP1001, OC 062-07 607 UK 1982 Sell This Version
4XT-12271, 4XT 12271 Thomas Dolby The Golden Age Of Wireless(Cass, Album, Whi) Capitol Records, Capitol Records 4XT-12271, 4XT 12271 Canada 1983 Sell This Version
C054 1077821 Thomas Dolby The Golden Age Of Wireless(LP, Album) Venice In Peril Records C054 1077821 Netherlands 1982 Sell This Version
50999 2 67915 2 4, 2679 152 Thomas Dolby The Golden Age Of Wireless(CD, Album, RE, RM + DVD-V, NTSC) EMI, EMI 50999 2 67915 2 4, 2679 152 UK & Europe 2009 Sell This Version
ST-512271 Thomas Dolby The Golden Age Of Wireless(LP, Album, Club) Capitol Records ST-512271 US 1984 Sell This Version