Tobias Schmidt ‎– Destroy

Tresor ‎– TRESOR 158
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Dirty Old Face 4:53
2 No One 4:02
3 Blackout 9:05
4 Wronged 3:52
5 Work 5:46
6 Wagging Tail 4:08
7 Stress 5:44
8 Too Honest 6:10
9 Express 4:26
10 Lost Number
Written-By [Co-written With] – I.Alfa*
11 Built On 6:58

Companies, etc.



Written and produced at Nestbass #1 Brighton 2000

Thanks for support and inspiration:
Parents, Sativae, Scandinavia, Tresor, I.Alfa, Trash, No Future, Predicaments, Subhead, Test, Neue Heimat, Cutout, FGA, Metway, Currently Processing, Hog.

Released by Tresor Records. A division of Interfisch Records GmbH.
Made in the E.U.
℗+© Tresor Records 2000

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 18755 61582 9
  • Barcode (Scanned): 718755615829
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): Sony DADC A0100335262-0101 11 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): Sony DADC A0100335262-0101 11 A2
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L551
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 94K1
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 945C
  • Rights Society: GEMA

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
Tresor 158 Tobias Schmidt Destroy(2xLP) Tresor Tresor 158 Germany 2000 Sell This Version
Tresor.158, Tresor 158 Tobias Schmidt Destroy(Cass, Album) Outside Media, Tresor Tresor.158, Tresor 158 Poland 2000 Sell This Version
Tresor 158 Tobias Schmidt Destroy(2xLP, Promo) Tresor Tresor 158 Germany 2000 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



December 17, 2018
To the album belongs also a Poster wich is in the cover . I bought this Record in 2001 and it's still great


January 17, 2017
edited over 3 years ago
Bought this back in the day and it still sounds great today. The album shows a lot of imagination in its rhythms, bass hooks, inventive quirks, and little moments, as you would expect from the Sativae/Mosquito camp, while still maintaining a moody, edgy techno stomp.

Favourite track is Work, with melodic elements that sound like soft mallets on a ride cymbal and tubular bells, a rumbling, descending bass riff, and a distorted spoken-word vocal hovering in the background that rises to a scream.


December 22, 2004
edited over 15 years ago

Fantastic release by Schmidt. The whole album has an 'organic' feel that is reminiscent of Aphex Twin's productions ie: electronic but not entirely computerised/mechanical/digital (where do those samples come from?). But paradoxically Schmidt manages to conjure sounds and rhythms that are mechanized to the extreme. Whirring flywheels, pumping pistons and flailing robotic arms are the images that I conjure up when listening to this gem. The best example of this is Stress that sounds like it was made by utilizing the innards of a GM Motors factory. But the highlight of the album is Too Honest with its 'Tainted Love' rhythm and bouncy sub bass which manages to retain an air of melancholy that somehow just works. Destroy is a great outing for Schmidt that has spurred me on to hunt out more of his work.