Todd Rundgren ‎– Something / Anything?

Bearsville ‎– 2BX 2066
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Goldisc Pressing, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Todd Rundgren I Saw The Light 2:59
A2 Todd Rundgren It Wouldn't Have Made Any Difference 3:51
A3 Todd Rundgren Wolfman Jack 2:55
A4 Todd Rundgren Cold Morning Light 3:35
A5 Todd Rundgren It Takes Two To Tango (This Is For The Girls) 2:43
A6 Todd Rundgren Sweeter Memories 3:32
B1 Todd Rundgren Intro 1:10
B2 Todd Rundgren Breathless 3:15
B3 Todd Rundgren The Night The Carousel Burned Down 4:32
B4 Todd Rundgren Saving Grace 4:11
B5 Todd Rundgren Marlene 3:55
B6 Todd Rundgren Song Of The Viking 2:37
B7 Todd Rundgren I Went To The Mirror 4:06
C1 Todd Rundgren Black Maria 5:18
C2 Todd Rundgren One More Day (No Word) 3:44
C3 Todd Rundgren Couldn't I Just Tell You 3:36
C4 Todd Rundgren Torch Song 2:51
C5 Todd Rundgren Little Red Lights 4:51
Baby Needs A New Pair Of Snakeskin Boots (A Pop Operetta)
Overture - My Roots (2:30)
D1a Money (13) Money (That's What I Want)
Bass Guitar – Collie ReadDrums – Stockman (2)Lead Guitar – Todd RundgrenLead Vocals – Rick ValenteRhythm Guitar – Randy ReadWritten-By – B. Strong*, B. Gordy Jr.*, J. Bradford*
D1b Woody's Truck Stop Messin' With The Kid
Lead Guitar – Todd RundgrenWritten-By – M. London*
D2 Todd Rundgren Dust In The Wind
Backing Vocals – Cecilia Norfleet, Dennis Cooley, Vicki Robinson*Bass Guitar – John SieglerDrums – John SiomosLead Guitar – Rick DerringerPiano – Todd RundgrenTenor Saxophone – Mike Brecker*Trombone – Barry RogersTrumpet – Randy BreckerWritten-By – Mark Klingman
D3 Todd Rundgren Piss Aaron
Bass Guitar – Jim ColgroveDrums – Billy MundiGuitar – Amos GarrettPedal Steel Guitar – Ben KeithPiano – Todd Rundgren
D4 Todd Rundgren Hello It's Me
Backing Vocals – Cecilia Norfleet, Dennis Cooley, Vicki Robinson*Bass Guitar – Stu WoodsDrums – John SiomosGuitar – Robbie KogalePiano – Todd RundgrenTenor Saxophone – Mike Brecker*Trombone – Barry RogersTrumpet – Randy Brecker
D5 Todd Rundgren Some Folks Is Even Whiter Than Me
Bass Guitar – Bugsy MaughCongas – Serge KatzenDrums – Billy MundiGuitar – Ralph Wash, Todd RundgrenTenor Saxophone – Gene Dinwiddie
D6 Todd Rundgren You Left Me Sore
Bass Guitar – Stu WoodsDrums – John SiomosGuitar – Robbie KogalePiano – Todd Rundgren
D7 Todd Rundgren Slut
Backing Vocals – Anthony Carrubba, Brook Baxes, Edward Olmos, Henry FantonBass Guitar – Tony SalesDrums – Hunt SalesGuitar – Rick Vito, Todd RundgrenPiano – Charles SchoningTenor Saxophone – Jim Horn, John Kelson

Companies, etc.



"GOL" in runouts denotes a Goldisc Recording Products, Inc. pressing.

Some copies came with a quarto insert (8 pages total of lyrics, photos, and credits, printed 2-sided, folded from a single piece of glossy paper, 4 pages per side, folded map or accordion style). On this insert, side D is listed with only 6 tracks (D2 to D7) while the physical disk has 7 tracks on side D.

Side D is titled:

Baby Needs A New Pair Of Snakeskin Boots
A Pop Operetta

Track D1 (Overture) consists of two recordings from 1966 by bands in which Todd Rundgren played.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout etched): 2BX-1-2066-G1 GOL
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout etched): 2BX-2-2066-G1 GOL
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout etched): 2BX-3-2066 G1 M11 GOL
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout etched): 2BX-4-2066 G1 GOL

Other Versions (5 of 76) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
2BX 2066 Todd Rundgren Something / Anything?(2xLP, Album, Ter) Bearsville 2BX 2066 US 1972 Sell This Version
VICP-60258/9 Todd Rundgren Something / Anything?(2xCD, Album) Bearsville VICP-60258/9 Japan 1998 Sell This Version
2 BX 2066 Todd Rundgren Something / Anything?(2xLP, Album, Gat) Bearsville 2 BX 2066 Canada 1972 Sell This Version
MFSL 2-225 Todd Rundgren Something / Anything?(2xLP, Ltd, Num, RM, Gat) Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab MFSL 2-225 US 1995 Sell This Version
VICP-63261-2 Todd Rundgren Something/Anything?(2xCD, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, Gat) Bearsville, Victor Entertainment, Inc. VICP-63261-2 Japan 2006 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 1, 2013

This album is one of the best I've ever heard. From the Carole King/Laura Nyro styled pop opening to the blaring rock 'n' roll ending, this album is certainly one of the best.

Side A consists of pop songs, Side B and Side C consist of experimental songs, and Side D is a medley of songs about the past.

You never knew what to expect for the next song upon first listen. The album has a variety of genres other than pop and rock: The song "Breathless" is a piece that is very ahead of it's time, and the vocals are heavily synthesized, and it also includes an uncredited sample of Vince Guaraldi's "Treat Street". "Song Of The Viking" is pretty reminiscent of a Rodgers-Hammerstein song.

This album has spawned two hit singles: "I Saw The Light" (the album opener), and "Hello It's Me" (This song was actually one of the first songs Todd ever wrote, way back in 1968. His first band Nazz did the original version, and Todd re-recorded a different version, speeding it up and making it sound like a pop song.

Overall, I highly recommend this album to any true music fan. Also, if you like his pop songs, try finding a copy of his debut album "Runt" and his second album "Runt: The Ballad Of Todd Rundgren", or "Hermit Of Mink Hollow". If you're into hard rock, try finding some of his Nazz albums. And if you love his experimental stuff, try picking up a copy of "A Wizard, A True Star", or "Todd". If you like it all, try getting all of his discography from his Nazz work to "Second Wind".