Tom Waits ‎– Mule Variations

Anti- ‎– 86547-1
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, 180 Gram

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Big In Japan
Bass – Les ClaypoolDrums – Brain Mantia*Guitar – Larry LaLonde, Tom WaitsSaxophone, Trumpet – Ralph Carney
A2 Lowside Of The Road
Cümbüş [Chumbus], Harp [Dousengoni] – Smokey HormelGuitar, Organ [Optigon] – Tom WaitsProgrammed By – Jacquire KingRecorded By – Gene CorneliusTrumpet – Chris Grady
A3 Hold On
Bass – Larry TaylorGuitar – Joe Gore, Marc RibotGuitar, Organ – Tom WaitsPercussion – Stephen Hodges
A4 Get Behind The Mule
Bass – Larry TaylorGuitar – Smokey HormelHarp – Charlie MusselwhitePercussion – Stephen Hodges
B1 House Where Nobody Lives
Bass, Rhythm Guitar – Larry TaylorLead Guitar – Marc RibotPiano – Tom Waits
B2 Cold Water
Bass – Larry TaylorDrums – Christopher Marvin*Guitar – Marc Ribot, Tom Waits
B3 Pony
Dobro – Smokey HormelGuitar, Harmonium [Pump Organ] – Tom WaitsHarp – John Hammond*
B4 What's He Building?
Percussion – Jeff SloanReeds – Ralph CarneyTurntables – DJ M. Mark “The III Media” Reitman*Voice – Tom Waits
C1 Black Market Baby
Drums – Andrew BorgerGuitar – Marc RibotGuitar, Percussion, Chamberlin – Tom WaitsReeds – Ralph CarneyTurntables – DJ M. Mark “The III Media” Reitman*
C2 Eyeball Kid
Bass Clarinet – Ralph CarneyBassoon – Larry Rhodes (2)Guitar – Marc RibotPercussion – Greg Cohen, Tom WaitsTurntables – DJ M. Mark “The III Media” Reitman*
C3 Picture In A Frame
Alto Saxophone – Ralph CarneyBaritone Saxophone – Nik Phelps*Bass – Greg CohenPiano – Tom Waits
C4 Chocolate Jesus
Bass – Greg CohenGuitar – Tom WaitsHarp – Charlie Musselwhite
D1 Georgia Lee
Bass – Dalton Dillingham IIIPiano – Tom WaitsViolin – Linda Delucia-Gbidossi*
D2 Filipino Box Spring Hog
Bass, Guitar – Larry TaylorDrums, Percussion – Andrew BorgerGuitar – Marc RibotHarmonica – Charlie MusselwhiteProgrammed By – Jacquire KingTrumpet – Chris GradyTurntables – DJ M. Mark “The III Media” Reitman*
D3 Take It With Me
Bass – Greg CohenPiano – Tom Waits
D4 Come On Up To The House
Baritone Saxophone – Nik Phelps*Bass – Larry TaylorDrums – Andrew BorgerGuitar – Joe GoreHarmonica – Charlie MusselwhitePiano – Tom WaitsSaxophone – Ralph Carney

Companies, etc.



Newly Remastered with Waits/Brennan

All songs recorded at Prairie Sun Recording Studios except 'Lowside Of The Road' recorded at Sputnik Sound.

Les Claypool, Larry LaLonde and Brain appears courtesy of Interscope Records

John Hammond and Charlie Musselwhite appear courtesy of Pointblank/Virgin Records America, Inc.

Marc Ribot appears courtesy of Atlantic Recording Corporation

© 1999 Jalma Music (ASCAP)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 4577-86547-1 0
  • Matrix / Runout: 86547-1 2017-A *
  • Matrix / Runout: 86547-1 2017-B *
  • Matrix / Runout: 86547-1 2017-C *
  • Matrix / Runout: 86547-1 2017-D *

Other Versions (5 of 44) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
86547-2 Tom Waits Mule Variations(CD, Album, Dig) Anti-, Epitaph 86547-2 US 1999 Sell This Version
86547-1 Tom Waits Mule Variations(2xLP, Album, RE) Anti- 86547-1 US 2010 Sell This Version
2021-86547-2 Tom Waits Mule Variations(CD, Album) Anti-, Epitaph 2021-86547-2 1999 Sell This Version
86547-2, PLUG852-06 Tom Waits Mule Variations(CD, Album) Anti-, Epitaph, Plug Music (HK) Limited 86547-2, PLUG852-06 Hong Kong 1999 Sell This Version
6328-2, 86547-2 Tom Waits Mule Variations(CD, Album) Roadrunner Records, Anti-, Epitaph 6328-2, 86547-2 Argentina 1999 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



March 26, 2018
edited over 2 years ago
I just picked this up the other day... it has a fair bit of surface noise even after a good cleaning on my RCM. It sounds like the mastering is OK but.... anyway, a little better than the latest re-master of "Closing Time" which sounds like someone threw a towel over the recording and the surface noise is unbearable. Stay away from that one for sure. I certainly expected more from these re-masters from T.W. since he and his wife K.B. were supposedly overseeing the process. I most likely will not be buying the remainder of the re-masters due to be released in 2018 unless I read "a lot" of very positive reviews. I am so very disappointed.