Tom Waits ‎– Mule Variations

Anti- ‎– 86547-1
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Big In Japan
Bass – Les ClaypoolDrums – Brain Mantia*Guitar – Larry LaLondeGuitar, Vocals – Tom WaitsSaxophone, Trumpet – Ralph Carney
A2 Lowside Of The Road
Banjo [Chumbus, Dousengoni] – Smokey HormelGuitar, Organ [Optigon] – Tom WaitsProgrammed By – Jacquire KingRecorded By – Gene CorneliusTrumpet – Chris Grady
A3 Hold On
Bass – Larry TaylorGuitar – Joe Gore, Marc RibotGuitar, Organ – Tom WaitsPercussion – Stephen Hodges
A4 Get Behind The Mule
Bass – Larry TaylorGuitar – Smokey HormelHarp – Charlie MusselwhitePercussion – Stephen HodgesVocals – Tom Waits
B1 House Where Nobody Lives
Bass, Rhythm Guitar – Larry TaylorLead Guitar – Marc RibotPiano – Tom Waits
B2 Cold Water
Bass – Larry TaylorDrums – Christopher Marvin*Guitar – Marc Ribot, Tom Waits
B3 Pony
Dobro – Smokey HormelGuitar, Harmonium [Pump Organ] – Tom WaitsHarp – John Hammond*
B4 What's He Building?
Percussion – Jeff SloanReeds – Ralph CarneyTurntables – DJ M. Mark “The Ill Media” Reitman*
C1 Black Market Baby
Drums – Andrew BorgerGuitar – Marc RibotGuitar, Percussion, Electric Piano [Chamberlin] – Tom WaitsReeds – Ralph CarneyTurntables – DJ M. Mark “The Ill Media” Reitman*
C2 Eyeball Kid
Bass Clarinet – Ralph CarneyBassoon – Larry Rhodes (2)Guitar – Marc RibotPercussion – Greg Cohen, Tom WaitsTurntables – DJ M. Mark “The Ill Media” Reitman*
C3 Picture In A Frame
Alto Saxophone – Ralph CarneyBaritone Saxophone – Nik Phelps*Bass – Greg CohenPiano – Tom Waits
C4 Chocolate Jesus
Bass – Greg CohenGuitar – Tom WaitsHarp – Charlie Musselwhite
D1 Georgia Lee
Bass – Dalton Dillingham IIIPiano – Tom WaitsViolin – Linda Delucia-Gbidossi
D2 Filipino Box Spring Hog
Drums, Percussion – Andrew BorgerGuitar – Marc RibotGuitar, Bass – Larry TaylorHarmonica – Charlie MusselwhiteProgrammed By – Jacquire KingTrumpet – Chris GradyTurntables – DJ M. Mark “The Ill Media” Reitman*
D3 Take It With Me
Bass – Greg CohenPiano – Tom Waits
D4 Come On Up To The House
Baritone Saxophone – Nik Phelps*Bass – Larry TaylorDrums – Andrew BorgerGuitar – Joe GoreHarmonica – Charlie MusselwhitePiano – Tom WaitsSaxophone – Ralph Carney

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Prairie Sun Recording Studios except 'Lowside Of The Road' at Sputnik Sound.
Mastered at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios by Chris Bellman

℗&© 1999 Anti, Inc. Manufactured and distributed by Epitaph.
All songs © Jalma Music (ASCAP)
Comes in Gatefold sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 045778654710

Other Versions (5 of 37) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
86547-2 Tom Waits Mule Variations(CD, Album) Anti-, Epitaph 86547-2 US 1999 Sell This Version
6547-2 Tom Waits Mule Variations(CD, Album, Promo, Dig) Anti-, Epitaph 6547-2 Europe 1999 Sell This Version
6328-2, 86547-2 Tom Waits Mule Variations(CD, Album) Roadrunner Records, Anti-, Epitaph 6328-2, 86547-2 Brazil 1999 Sell This Version
86547-2 Tom Waits Mule Variations(CD, Album, Unofficial) Anti- (2), Epitaph (3) 86547-2 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
ESCA 7457 Tom Waits Mule Variations(CD, Album) Epitaph, Epic ESCA 7457 Japan 1999 Sell This Version