Tom Waits ‎– Small Change

Anti- ‎– 87568-1, Anti- ‎– 87568-1SLE
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered, Blue Opaque


A1 Tom Traubert's Blues (Four Sheets To The Wind In Copenhagen) 6:40
A2 Step Right Up 5:39
A3 Jitterbug Boy (Sharing A Curbstone With Chuck E. Weiss, Robert Marchese, Paul Body And The Mug And Artie) 3:41
A4 I Wish I Was In New Orleans (In The Ninth Ward) 4:50
A5 The Piano Has Been Drinking (Not Me) (An Evening With Pete King) 3:37
B1 Invitation To The Blues 5:20
B2 Pasties And A G-String (At The Two O'Clock Club) 2:32
B3 Bad Liver And A Broken Heart (In Lowell) 4:46
B4 The One That Got Away 4:00
B5 Small Change (Got Rained On With His Own .38) 5:03
B6 I Can't Wait To Get Off Work (And See My Baby On Montgomery Avenue) 3:20

Companies, etc.



Recorded complete and direct to 2-Track Stereo Tape at Wally Heider Recording, Hollywood, California on July 15, 19, 20, 21, 29, 1976.

All songs BMG (ASCAP)

© & ℗ 1976, 2018 Lost Henry. Manufactured and distributed by Anti, a division of Epitaph.

Newly Remastered with Waits/Brennan

Limited Edition Indie Exclusive On Opaque Blue Vinyl.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text (Stickered)): 0 45778 75689 6
  • Barcode (Scanned (Stickered)): 045778756896
  • Barcode (Text (On Back Cover)): 0 45778 75681 0
  • Barcode (Scanned (On Back Cover)): 045778756810
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): 87568-1 A IRP PL
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): 87568-1 B IRP PL
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 89) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
7E-1078 Tom Waits Small Change(LP, Album) Asylum Records 7E-1078 US 1976 Sell This Version
7559-60612-2 Tom Waits Small Change(CD, Album, RE, RP) Asylum Records 7559-60612-2 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
8AS-1078 Tom Waits Small Change(8-Trk, Album) Asylum Records 8AS-1078 Canada 1976 Sell This Version
960612-2 Tom Waits Small Change(CD, Album, RE) Asylum Records 960612-2 Australia 1997 Sell This Version
7E-1078 Tom Waits Small Change(LP, Album, SRC) Asylum Records 7E-1078 US 1976 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



November 15, 2019
My copy came with a hype sticker on front that doesn't include the 'Limited Edition Colored Vinyl' text, but it does have the Opaque Blue barcode sticker on the rear, and otherwise seems identical.


June 18, 2018
Another beautiful pressing from ANTI. Nice rich, full sound. Sounds like Tom is singing directly in front of you, the vocals are present, up front and super detailed, you can hear all the little nuances in Waits' voice. Not compressed, not distorted, not muddy, super spectacular clean sound. Low end not as defined on the first track but the bass really comes alive on the second track and those cymbal crashes wow! Very lifelike! The focus is on Waits' voice throughout the recording, most of the instruments, piano, sax and whatnot sound a little more distant in the background at times but the overall recording still sounds full and compelling. The pressing is flat and centered with no apparent flaws. However, the record was staticky upon first play but will likely subside with a cleaning and subsequent plays. A grand reissue overall. Full, dynamic, intimate, clear sound on this one.


June 8, 2018
How’s the sound/pressing? I ordered one yesterday from a seller, but after seeing the complaints from other people regarding the entire run of the ‘Closing Time’ reissue, I’m concerned. In fact, Anti’s Facebook Page is offering replacement copies of ‘Closing Time’ for those who ordered thru their website.