Tomasz Stanko Quartet* ‎– Lontano

ECM Records ‎– ECM 1980, ECM Records ‎– 987 7380
CD, Album


1 Lontano I 12:52
2 Cyrhla 7:06
3 Song For Ania 7:43
4 Kattorna 6:33
5 Lontano II 14:58
6 Sweet Thing 6:58
7 Trista 4:39
8 Lontano III 12:05
9 Tale 3:57

Companies, etc.



Recorded November 2005
Studios La Buissonne, Pernes-les-Fontaines

An ECM Production

℗ 2006 ECM Records GmbH
© 2006 ECM Records GmbH

Printed in Germany

All compositions published by ECM Verlag.

Issued as a standard jewel case with a 20-page booklet housed in a cardboard o-card including the barcode.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 6 02498 77380 2
  • Barcode (String): 602498773802
  • Label Code: LC 02516
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 06024 987 738-0 01 ✳ 51736617 Made in Germany by EDC A
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI LV26
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): [Universal logo x4] 06024 987 738-0 01 ✳ 51736617 Made in Germany by EDC B
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI LV26
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0113

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



December 3, 2010
edited over 8 years ago

Modern jazz and free improvisations don’t need to be messy and difficult to access. Instead, it can be beautiful and inspiring. Space is huge on this album, but it’s not cold. It is filled with sounds and silences that seem to live its own life, like the expansion of the universe. Still every change, and every progress, feels understandable.

Polish trumpet player Tomasz Stańko is a modern lyricist. I’m not the only one who compares him with Miles Davis, whose tone and style is similar although different in mood. I actually find Stańko warmer and more continuous in his search. The other musicians in this Polish quartet amaze me too. Marcin Wasilewski is a phenomenal pianist, playing chords in the modern school with self-confidence and makes variations of them in elegant manners, without tearing the silence apart. Never have I heard quietness this exciting before - because in the middle of this emptiness there is music, free floating notes of music.

With this work, Tomasz Stańko reaches equivalence with Miles Davis. Not because of the sound, but since this quartet feels equally creative in its cooperation as the Miles Davis Quartet did in the 1960s.