Tony Allen ‎– The Source

Blue Note ‎– 5768336
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Moody Boy 6:31
A2 Bad Roads 5:48
A3 Cruising 5:59
B1 On Fire 6:24
B2 Woro Dance 6:38
B3 Tony's Blues 5:04
C1 Wolf Eats Wolf 5:36
C2 Cool Cats
Piano – Damon Albarn
D1 Push And Pull 6:27
D2 Ewajo 5:33
D3 Life Is Beautiful
Clavinet – Vincent Taurelle

Companies, etc.



℗ © 2017 Blue Note France
Made in the E.U.

Analog recording, analog mixing, analog mastering
No digital process was used in the production of this sound recording.

Recorded live to analog tape at Midilive Studio, Villetaneuse (France)

Mixed to analog tape at Konk Studio, London

Mastered at Chabmastering Studio, Paris (France)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 602557683363
  • Barcode (Text): 6 02557 68336 3
  • Rights Society: SCPP
  • Rights Society: FCM
  • SPARS Code: AAA
  • Other (Cat # LP 1): 5768338
  • Other (Cat # LP 2): 5768339
  • Matrix / Runout (Label A): LP20A
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B): LP20B
  • Matrix / Runout (Label C): LP20C
  • Matrix / Runout (Label D): LP20D
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched A): 5768338 A-1 K. SST BH84048-01 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched B): 5768338 B-1 K. SST BH84048-01 B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched C): 5768339 A-1 K. SST BH84048-02 C1
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched D): 5768339 B-1 K. SST BH84048-02 D1

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
B002721402 Tony Allen The Source(CD, Album) Blue Note France B002721402 US 2017 Sell This Version
none Tony Allen The Source(CDr, Album, Promo) Blue Note none 2017 Sell This Version
5768329 Tony Allen The Source(CD, Album) Blue Note France 5768329 Europe 2017 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



May 16, 2018
Superb pressing; flat, quiet and great music. Highly recommended 👍


February 23, 2018
Wow. Stunning. Beautifully arranged, recorded, mastered and pressed. Truly a delight on the ears. Close to, or at, reference level .


September 24, 2017

This is my favourite release this year so far! Tony Allen pays tribute to his early jazz influences: Lester Bowie, Charles Mingus, Art Blakey, Gil Evans to name a few. Together with saxophonist Yann Jankielewicz, Allen composed eleven instrumental tracks that merge afrobeat and jazz in a unique and organic way. Sometimes the album swings more towards the jazzier side, sometimes the driving groove of afrobeat takes over and sometimes the band just hits the sweet spot in-between. Tony Allen brought together an ensemble of high-prolific Paris-based Jazz musicians, the guitarist Indy Dibongue from Cameroon and Damon Albarn, who contributes a piano part to “Cool Cats.” The album boasts with a variety timbre and a diversity of colours and the complete analogue recording makes for a warm and very present sound. The pressing is flawless and has a magnificent sound! "The Source" is a listening's like Lagos of the 70'ies and 50/60'ies New York merged into one sonically sprawling megacity and you are right there in this jazz-club with master drummer Tony Allen and his band making the magic happen...definitely a must have!



September 21, 2017

Best Allen so far, Without vocal guests makes it SOLID