Torture Chorus ‎– In The Land Of Lullabye

Charnel Music ‎– CHCD-14, Vanilla Records ‎– VANILLA-43

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Like Their Pop They Never Stopped. 3:16
2 Mixamatosis 4:29
3 Crack!
Drums – Hiroshi Hasegawa
4 Johnny Over The Ocean 1:52
5 It's Still Not Worth It.
Drums – Hiroshi Hasegawa
6 Men Who Come 4:36
7 Chocolate Train 5:46
8 The Real You 6:19
9 The Pidgeon And The Onion Pie
Drums – Sam Lohmann*

Companies, etc.



In Sept. 1992, shock theater group Torture Chorus performed a series of shows in Japan as special guests on the Alchemism '92 Anniversary Tour. This recording is a document of that experience and the studio work leading up to it.

3 recorded live at La Mama, Tokyo
5 recorded live at Antiknock, Tokyo
9 recorded live at Bears, Osaka
All studio tracks recorded in San Francisco, USA 1992


Add Review



June 4, 2012
Insane children's hour music with a dark, daaarrrrkkkk message. Catchy little sing-along ditties, sex explained between children, the destruction of innocence by experience. The insane cartoon cover should give some clue, and the three hints - title like "In The Land Of Lullabys", a group called TORTURE CHORUS and the CHARNEL label should explain the rest. Bizarre loops, twisted songs which invite you to join in the chorus. If like so many of us you find the antics and humour of clowns to be sinister and threatening, then this is what they have always wanted to be, and the music they always wanted to create. This is insane and dangerous, and probably of esoteric interest.
Having said which, you can see why it was released. Along with groups like DILEDADAFISH, TORTURE CHORUS have become cartographers of the land of the insane. They want to be Noise Terrorists (and occasionally on this they do indulge themselves), but chose instead to delve into an area which fits madness in the guise of childish humour.

There always was something odd about adults who went to extremes to make themselves appear stupid for our entertainment when we were children. So much of it went on when I was a child, but I cannot remember and genuine laughter it inspired. Here it is paraded, taken to an extreme and ridiculed. And this time those responsible do not want payment through childish shrieks of delight, but, now exposed, bones 'n' all, they want to inspire a chilling fear, the feeling that we are at the gates of a grim lunatic asylum and there is no going back.

But then that beautiful childish innocence we all once possessed was never killed by the discovery that Father Christmas was a lie; neither was it truly beaten out of us by a, now thankfully past, brutal Teacher; and you can't blame HINDLEY and BRADY either. What killed that part of us we'll never see again this side of senility is known only to YOU! TORTURE CHORUS's satire adds nothing and takes nothing from this, but comes across as a nightmare revisit to a place we never knew, but know so well.

Originally reviewed for Soft Watch.