TransAtlantic (2) ‎– SMPTe

Inside Out Music ‎– IOMCD 057
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

All Of The Above (30:59)
1.1 I. Full Moon Rising
1.2 II. October Winds
1.3 III. Camouflaged In Blue
1.4 IV. Half Alive
1.5 V. Undying Love
1.6 VI. Full Moon Rising (Reprise)
2 We All Need Some Light 5:45
3 Mystery Train 6:52
4 My New World 16:16
5 In Held (Twas) In I
Arranged By – Portnoy*, Morse*, Trewavas*, Stolt*Written-By – Brooker*, Reid*, Fisher*

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed BySPV GmbH – SPV 085-31972 CD
  • Distributed BySPV GmbH – SPV 31972 CD
  • Pressed BySonopress – A-23680



Release Title as per front cover:

Recorded at Millbrook Studios – Millbrook, New York – June/July 1999.
Neal's additional recording at The Morse House – TN, USA.
Roine's additional recordings at Cosmic Lodge – Sweden.
Pete's additional recordings at the Racket Club, UK.
Mixed at The Mouse House, USA – November 1999.
Mastered at Sony Music Studios NYC – January 2000.

Track 1.4 is written as "VI. Full Moon Reprise" on the rear of the booklet, while the full track title "VI. Full Moon Rising (Reprise)" is mentioned in the lyrics section of the booklet.

All songs published by TransAtlantic 2000.

℗ & © 2000 InsideOutMusic.
Produced under license from TransAtlantic.
Distributed by SPV GmbH, except Benelux by Suburban.
Cat#: SPV 085-31972 CD (rear artwork) | SPV 31972 CD (on disc)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4 001617 319727
  • Matrix / Runout: [sonopress logo] A-23680/ 085-31972 B
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LB 47
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0774
  • Label Code: LC 01414
  • Rights Society: GEMA

Other Versions (5 of 17) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
3984-14290-2 TransAtlantic (2) SMPTe(CD, Album) Metal Blade Records, Radiant Records (2) 3984-14290-2 US 2000 Sell This Version
IOMCD 057, 0504122 TransAtlantic (2) SMPTe(CD, Album, RE) Inside Out Music, Inside Out Music IOMCD 057, 0504122 Germany 2009 Sell This Version
IOMLP 057, 88875182801 TransAtlantic (2) SMPTe(2xLP, Album + CD, Album + RE) Inside Out Music, Inside Out Music IOMLP 057, 88875182801 Germany 2016 Sell This Version
IOMCD 057, 0504122 TransAtlantic (2) SMPTe(CD, Album, RE) Inside Out Music, Inside Out Music IOMCD 057, 0504122 Germany 2009 Sell This Version
IOMCD 057, IOMCD057 TransAtlantic (2) SMPTe(CD, Album + CD, Enh + Ltd, Dig) Inside Out Music, Inside Out Music IOMCD 057, IOMCD057 Europe 2000 Sell This Version



Add Review



February 8, 2018

Showing us what a true progressive rock supergroup looks like, Transatlantic brings together some of the biggest and most influential musicians from the prog world, such as Roine Stolt of the Flower Kings, Pete Trewavas from legendary rock band Marillion, Neal Morse, best known for his work with Spocks Beard and his countless solo albums, and of course, Mike Portnoy, known mostly for his work with Dream Theater, and also literally every other band in the universe.

Featuring just five tracks, three of which are fairly lengthy, 'SMPTe' is a fantastic prog rock record, which pays homage to all the great bands of the genres early days, while maintaining its own contemporary sound. Full of lavish instrumentals, complex yet engaging arrangements and emotional vocal work, Transatlantic are an exceptional band that will go on to be more than just a "side project".

Album opener, 'All of the Above' measures in at 31 minutes long, and is truly an "epic" in every sense of the word. Well paced, well composed and well executed. Full of incredible musicianship and catchy vocal sections, not only is this a fantastic song in its own right, but is a fine representation of progressive rock. Period.

'We All Need Some Light' and 'Mystery Train' are both shorter songs in comparison, being a beautiful rock ballad and a funky, all-out rock song respectively, both are infectious pieces that do a perfect job of bridging the gap between the longer tracks, which leads us to 'My New World' (hitting the 16-minute mark) and a cover of Procol Haram's 'In Held ('Twas) in I', which reaches 17 minutes. Both are fantastic pieces that maintain the high quality of music throughout the album.

There's a very palpable chemistry between all four musicians, with each member playing off of each other with ease. The music is energetic and fun, and wonderfully crafted. An added bonus is that all four men cover vocal duties. No doubt Neal Morse carries the bulk of it, but having four vocalists shakes things up and makes for better storytelling.

All-in-all this is an monumental album, and one that everyone should own. It will impress old fans and convert new ones, and is a true gem of progressive rock.