U2 ‎– New Year's Day

Island Records ‎– 18S-183, Polystar ‎– 18S-183
Vinyl, 12", 45 RPM


A1 New Year's Day (Long Version) 5:40
A2 Treasure (Whatever Happened To Pete The Chop) 3:22
B1 Fire 3:48
B2 I Threw A Brick Through A Window
B3 A Day Without Me 7:00

Companies, etc.



A1 taken from the forthcoming album War ILPS 9733.
B1 to B3 recorded live in Werchter, Belgium, July 1982 by I.D. TV & Film, taken from soundtrack to TV Special "U2".
With integral OBI, lyric / info sheet.
Insert incorrectly lists running time of track A1 as 15:40.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped): 18S-183A 13 A-1-1 P
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped): 18S-183B A-1-1
  • Rights Society: JASRAC
  • Other (Price): ¥1,800

Other Versions (5 of 62) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WIP 6848 U2 New Year's Day(7", Single, 4 p) Island Records WIP 6848 UK 1983 Sell This Version
664 973 U2 New Year's Day(CD, Single, Blu) Island Records 664 973 Germany, Austria, & Switzerland Unknown Sell This Version
none U2 New Years Dub 2000 (Ferry Corsten Remix)(CDr, Promo) Island Records none UK 1999 Sell This Version
600 741, 600.741 U2 New Year's Day (Long Version)(12", Fir) Island Records, Island Records 600 741, 600.741 Europe 1983 Sell This Version
DMD 604 U2 New Year's Day(12", Promo) Island Records DMD 604 US 1983 Sell This Version