U2 ‎– Pop

Island Records ‎– 314-524 334-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Discothèque
Mixed By [Additional Mixing] – Howie B.Performer [Sample] – FreeformRecorded By [Assistant] – Femio HernandezWritten-By [Sample] – Simon Pike*
2 Do You Feel Loved
Producer – Steve Osborne
Mixed By – Alan Moulder
4 If God Will Send His Angels
Recorded By [Assistant] – Conal Markey
5 Staring At The Sun
Producer [Additional Production] – Steve Osborne
6 Last Night On Earth
Performer [Sample] – Collin Walcott, Don Cherry, Ed BlackwellWritten-By [Sample] – D. Milan*, N. Vasconcelos*
7 Gone
Mixed By – Ben Hillier
8 Miami
Keyboards – Howie B.Mixed By [Assistant] – Robin Ball
9 The Playboy Mansion
Written-By [Sample] – G. Clark*, R. McGuinn*
10 If You Wear That Velvet Dress
Recorded By [Assistant] – Conal Markey
11 Please
Organ – The Edge
12 Wake Up Dead Man
Performer [Sample] – Le Mystère Des Voix BulgaresWritten-By [Sample] – Nikolai Iankov Kaoufmane*

Companies, etc.



Unlike other versions that have the same matrix and were manufactured at PMDC, this version does not have codes and ID numbers (e.g. label code) under barcode (back cover) and has compact disc logo and Island records logo at same location. This version does not have CIDU210 catalogue number on spine, back cover.

Recorded in: Hanover - Dublin, Windmill Lane, Recordings Studios - Dublin, South Beach Studios - Miami and The Works - Dublin.

"Discothèque" contains sample from "Fane" performed by Freeform and written by Simon Pike, courtesy of Skam Records.

"Last Night On Earth" contains excerpts from "Trayra Bola" written by N.Vasconcelos and D.Milan, published by Nana's Music (GEMA), performed by Colin Walcott, Don Cherry and Ed Blackwell courtesy of ECM Records/BMG Classics. Used by permission.

"The Playboy Mansion" contains excerpts from "You Showed Me" written by G.Clark and R.McGuinn, published by Gene Clark/Bug Music and Tickson Music (BMI). Used by permission.

"Wake Up Dead Man" contains excerpts from "Besrodna Nevesta" written by Nikolai Iankov Kaoufmane, published by Disques Cellier (SUISA) and performed by Le Mystère Des Voix BUlgares, courtesy of 4AD Records (UK and Eire) and Disques Cellier (ROW).

℗ © 1997 PolyGram International Music B.V.
All tracks published by PolyGram International Music Publishing B.V.

Made in U.S.A.

Some copies with yellow sticker on sleeve: "One Sleeve Five Fronts: Includes the single Discothéque"

30-page booklet with lyrics, credits, photos, artwork. cover sheet folds out to a double fold, back sheet folds out to triple-fold, making it possible to close booklet with different page at top, using it as a cover variant. (Actually Standard CD jewel case with clear tray.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 314-524334-2 8
  • Barcode (String): 731452433428
  • Matrix / Runout (Variants 1 to 8): 314 524 334-2 07!
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 9): 314 524 334-2 07! G
  • Matrix / Runout (All variants): 4UALKXXXX
  • Matrix / Runout (All variants, plastic hub): MADE IN USA BY PMDC
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0308
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0328
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0332
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 0340
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 0393
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 6): IFPI 0394
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 7): IFPI 0345
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 8): IFPI 0326
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 9): IFPI 030L
  • Other (Back Cover): 0501

Other Versions (5 of 83) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CIDU210, 524 334-2 U2 Pop(CD, Album) Island Records, Island Records CIDU210, 524 334-2 Europe 1997 Sell This Version
none U2 Pop(File, MP3, Album, Pro) Island Records none USA, Canada & Europe 1997
CIDU210, 524 334-2 U2 Pop(CD, Album, Unofficial) Island Records (2), Island Records (2) CIDU210, 524 334-2 Poland 1997 Sell This Version
UICI-9063 U2 Pop = ポップ(CD, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, Pap) Island Records UICI-9063 Japan 2017 Sell This Version
CIDU210, 524 334-2 U2 Pop(CD, Album, RP) Island Records, Island Records CIDU210, 524 334-2 Europe Unknown Sell This Version