UNKLE ‎– War Stories

Surrender All ‎– SURR005CDX
CD, Album, Super Jewel Box

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Untitled Intro
Vocals [Additional] – Alex Grazioli
2 Chemistry
Backing Vocals – Aidan Lavelle, Pablo ClementsBass – James BookCello [Electric] – Philip Shepherd*Engineer [Protools / Logic] – Chris Allen (6)Guitar – Josh HommeOrgan, Synthesizer [Synth Strings] – Richard File
3 Hold My Hand
Guitar, Drums – Josh HommePiano – Dave Catching*Vocals – James LavelleWritten-By – D. Catching*
4 Restless
Bass – Josh HommeFeaturing [Vocals] – Josh HommeGuitar, Bass, Synthesizer [Synth Theremin], Synthesizer [Mpc] – Richard FileWritten-By – J. Homme*
5 Keys To The Kingdom
Featuring [Vocals] – Gavin ClarkWritten-By – G. Clark*
6 Price You Pay
Cello [Electric] – Philip Shepherd*Glockenspiel – Richard FileGuitar, Bass – Toby ButlerSynthesizer – Aidan LavelleSynthesizer [Synth Bass] – Chris Goss
7 Burn My Shadow
Backing Vocals – Chris GossBass, Synthesizer – Jeordie White aka Twiggy*Bells – James LavelleEngineer – James BookFeaturing [Vocals] – Ian AstburyGuitar – Ian AstburyWritten-By – I. Astbury*
8 Mayday
Bass – Toby ButlerDrums – Oliver BettsFeaturing – The Duke SpiritGuitar – Luke FordGuitar, Harmonium – Daniel Higgins (2)Programmed By – Edmund MonsefVocals, Harmonium – Leila Moss*Written-By – The Duke Spirit
9 Persons & Machinery
Engineer – AutoluxEngineer [Protools] – Edmund MonsefFeaturing – AutoluxOrgan – James LavelleOrgan, Acoustic Guitar – Richard FileVocals, Bass, Keyboards – Eugene GoreshterVocals, Glockenspiel, Drums – Carla AzarVocals, Guitar – Greg Edwards (2)Written-By – Autolux
10 Twilight
Featuring – 3DVocals, Drum Programming [Drum Machine], Sampler, Programmed By, Engineer – Neil Davidge, Robert Del NajaWritten-By – N. Davidge*, R. Del Naja*
11 Morning Rage
Effects [Bass Fx] – Eugene GoreshterElectric Piano [Rhodes], Synthesizer [Ems] – Richard FileVocals – James Lavelle
12 Lawless
Guitar, Synthesizer [Ems, Synth Bass], Percussion – Richard FileSynthesizer, Drums – Dave Catching*
13 Broken
Featuring [Vocals] – Gavin ClarkGuitar – Ali Love, Matthew CawsOrgan – Chris GossSynthesizer – James LavelleSynthesizer [Synth Bass] – Richard FileWritten-By – G. Clark*
14 When Things Explode
Arranged By [Strings] – Andrew SkeetBass, Guitar [Electric], Acoustic Guitar, Shaker – Ian AstburyFeaturing [Vocals] – Ian AstburyOrgan [Organ Bass] – Chris GossStrings – Alison Dods, Calina De La Mare, Chris Worsey, Lucy WilkinsVocals [Additional End Vocal] – Alex GrazioliWritten-By – A. Weissman*, I. Astbury*
15 Buying A Lie
Featuring [Vocals] – Lee GortonSynthesizer [Synth Bass], Backing Vocals – Chris GossWritten-By – L. Gorton*
16a Mistress
Featuring [Vocals] – Alice TempleProducer – Aidan LavelleProducer [Additional] – Pablo ClementsSynthesizer [Casio] – Richard FileSynthesizer [Hollow Synth] – Pablo ClementsWritten-By – A. Temple*
16b Tired Of Sleeping (Hidden Track)
Effects [Bass Fx] – Eugene GoreshterNoises [Radio Waves] – James LavelleWritten-By – D. Catching*



Recorded in Joshua Tree, LA & London, between Autumn 2005 & Winter 2006

The standard CD comes in a super jewel case with a 32 page booklet featuring specially commissioned paintings by Massive Attack's 3D.

This version is exclusive to independent UK shops.
Title sticker on front declares this release as "Special Edition".

"Untitled Intro" contains a sample of the track "Mr. Man" by Air.

"Hold My Hand" contains a sample of "Be My Wife" by David Bowie, taken from the album "Low", written by David Bowie.

"Restless" contains a sample of the track "Good Time Coming" by Mustard, written by Aiken & Brown.

"Price You Pay" contains a sample of the track "Eruption" taken from the album "Prisms" by Michael Garrison, written by Michael Garrison.

Bell loop on "Twilight" taken from the motion picture soundtrack "Solaris". "Twilight" contains a sample of the track "First Sleep" by Cliff Martinez, taken from the album "Solaris", written by Cliff Martinez.

"Morning Rage" contains a sample of the track "Trust" by Irmin Schmidt, taken from the album "Gospel Hard Rock", written by Irmin Schmidt.

"When Things Explode" contains sample of "5:15 the Angels Have Gone" by David Bowie, taken from the album "Heathen", written by David Bowie.

On disc: "(P) & (C) 2007 Surrender All."

The final 12 seconds within track 14 and the final 36 seconds within track 16a are blank, leaving the actual songs' durations at 5:20 and 3:50 respectively.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Number): 5060100662725
  • Matrix / Runout: NN-12498 SURR005CDX
  • Mould SID Code: ifpi RP116
  • Label Code: LC 14591

Other Versions (5 of 20) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SURR005CD UNKLE War Stories(CD) Surrender All SURR005CD UK 2007 Sell This Version
TRCP 5, TRCP-5 UNKLE War Stories(CD, Album) Traffic Inc., Traffic Inc. TRCP 5, TRCP-5 Japan 2007 Sell This Version
SURR005CD UNKLE War Stories(CD, Album) Surrender All SURR005CD UK 2007 Sell This Version
SURR003 CDP UNKLE War Stories Where Were You At 6AM...(CDr, Album, Promo) Surrender All SURR003 CDP UK 2007 Sell This Version
SURR005CD, 351735, MR 2597-2 UNKLE War Stories(CD, Album) Surrender All, Soyuz Music, Moon Records (2) SURR005CD, 351735, MR 2597-2 Ukraine 2007 Sell This Version