Ulanbator ‎– Sputnik

Ninja Tune ‎– ZEN 8
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Sputnik (The Original) 4:31
A2 Zoom Boom 3:48
A3 My Brain 4:22
A4 Trans-Experience 3:44
B1 Laika 3:48
B2 M.D.K.S. 3:13
B3 The World 4:15
B4 Selenga 4:12
C1 The Sky 3:08
C2 Love (This Way) 4:20
C3 Sputnik D.L. 4:08
C4 You Are Different 4:43
D1 Obsessive 6:25
D2 Himalaya 9:04

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ZEN CD8 Ulanbator Sputnik(CD, Album) Ninja Tune ZEN CD8 UK 1993 Sell This Version
ZEN 8 Ulanbator Sputnik(2xLP, W/Lbl) Ninja Tune ZEN 8 UK 1994 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



November 18, 2004
edited over 14 years ago
ulanbator, one of many in a myriad of coldcut alias'

this release was amongst some of the earliest in the ninja tune catalogue. set in more of an early hardcore techno type sound, this release shows that even coldcut are capable of a mis-step (or two, see hex - digital love for mistake #2)

as a curiosity, it's interesting to have this release in my collection, mainly as a gap filler as it dopesn't live up to even the occasional listening for the sake of it.

an oddity of it's time, a release best forgotten? well, even on the liner notes for the ninja tune 10 year XEN collection, this release was dismissed.