Unbehagen : Arden Day & Wysozky ‎– Unbehagen

Chmafu Nocords ‎– 31012016
2 × CD, Album, Stereo

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Stratagème #1
Clarinet – Angelo Cavarra
2 Under A Wave Off Fukushima #1 05:47
3 Stratagème #2 07:12
4 Under a wave off Fukushima #2 06:30
5 Musical Banks
Sounds – Luc Ferrari
6 Stratagème #3
Accompanied By, Drone – Léo Maurel
7 Intermission 00:33



"… may we not conceive, then, that a day will come when those ears will be no longer needed, and the hearing will be done by the delicacy of the machine’s own construction?"

Samuel Butler, Erewhon: The Book of Machines

The texture of our daily experiences has become a very complex combination between hard science, technology and art forms. Unless initiated, we are seldom aware of what lies behind the multiple high-tech applications that organise our everyday lives; a prosthetic environment we now have to adapt to after having had adjusted the primal environment to our modern needs.
But how did someone discover that tying a string through a hole in the end of a piece of wood and swinging it around, would produce a sound?
One can either listen to Unbehagen (malaise, discomfort, alert… or monkey on a shoulder) as a similar ritual where play transforms sacred into a “topsy-turvy sacred” or just take it as a sonic investigation into secularized rituals, however remote even in the most profane forms. In Unbehagen bull-roarers and hurgy-toys as divination instruments or tools are probably what captures best the potency of the sacred act in this ambiguous relation between play and ritual which can also include today’s use of sonic warfare as a form of social control.

All tracks on CD A were created in studio except Stratagème #3, which was recorded in a residency in collaboration with Léo Maurel (Boîte à Bourdon) at the church of Dangolsheim. CD B contains a 37 minutes long live piece, which has been recorded professionally in one timeline during a concert in Paris with the participation of Adrien Daoud (saxophone).