Usherhouse ‎– Flux

Cleopatra ‎– CLEO 9461-2
CD, Album


1 Flux I 0:37
2 Motherland 5:11
3 Catalyst 4:50
4 Glory 4:30
5 Legacy 5:22
6 November Dream 5:18
7 The Line 4:14
8 Deceit 4:21
9 Flux II 5:20




Add Review



June 4, 2012
The vocalist on this shortish collection of songs sounds very much like JAZ COLEMAN, with cool phrased verse and rip-throated chorus hook, and the similarity doesn't end there. A solid, tight Rock music with a strong KILLING JOKE tint to it, perhaps not as light and commercial, but they have their moments. It flexes considerable muscles, but otherwise doesn't really have the ability to particularly distinguish itself from any other group with a KJ-area influence. The fretless bass on "November Dream" has a smoothly curvy sound, like a rough-around-the-edges MICK KARN, and if other tracks had similar inflection to the instruments, they'd probably have created themselves a unique little collection of songs here. As it is, they come through with the silver medal for a rather solid album. So no individual song distinguishes itself - so what? They deserve huge credit for effort, and with a little dabbling, they might manage to find their own sound, in which case they deserve to establish a huge following. As it is, I'm sure they'll sell a hearty quantity of tickets whenever they play live (and, yes, they'd be worth going to see), and this album should do well. The slower pieces deserve a listen to, and the full-speed-paced faster songs will set the adrenaline racing in many listeners.
USHERHOUSE are a worthy addition to any Indie Rock collection. And in a gladiatorial contest, many others in the field would soil themselves at the strength of these three guys. Tight, hot, punchy and as hard as nails - you don't need to be the biggest to be a contender!

Originally reviewed for Soft Watch.