Vía Láctea ‎– Vía Láctea

Wah Wah Records ‎– LPS162
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Remastered

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 La Estructura Del Universo
Written-By – Carlos Alvarado
A2 El Jardin De La Presencia Divina
Flute, Tambora, Kalimba – Jorge ReyesWritten-By – Alvarado*, Reyes*
A3 Via Lumiere
Synthesizer [ARP Odyssey] – Herminia S. AlvaradoWritten-By – Carlos Alvarado
B1 El Hombre En La Eternidad
Written-By – Carlos Alvarado
B2 Meditacion Post Atomica
Written-By – Carlos Alvarado
B3 La Alondra Y La Virgen
Guitar – Arturo MezaWritten-By – Carlos Alvarado
Bonus Track
B4 Ainsohp 3:02

Companies, etc.


  • EngineerPaco Rosas
  • Keyboards [Orquestador Crumar], Synthesizer [ARP Odyssey, ARP Axxe, Korg MS20], Vocoder [Korg], Piano [Prepared], Flute, Tape, Arranged By, Producer, Directed ByCarlos Alvarado


Limited edition of 500 copies.
Housed on a flapped envelope style cover, this time in silk screened metallic copper cardboard. Features a colour insert with photos and notes, plus a bonus Momia sticker based on the one given on the original release.

Includes one bonus track ('Ainsoph').

Recorded at Estudios "Crystal", 14-21 March 1980.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4040824085438

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
Momia 001 Vía Láctea Vía Láctea(LP, Album, Ltd) Momia Discos Momia 001 Mexico 1980 Sell This Version
Momia CD 01 Vía Láctea Vía Láctea(CD, Album) Momia Discos Momia CD 01 Mexico Unknown Sell This Version
Momia CD 01 Vía Láctea Vía Láctea(CD, Album, RE) Rock'n'Roll Circus Momia CD 01 Mexico Unknown Sell This Version
Discos Momia 01 Vía Láctea Vía Láctea 30 Aniversario(CD, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, RM, Min) Momia Discos Discos Momia 01 Mexico 2010 Sell This Version



Add Review



September 13, 2015
Mexican rock had a strong renaissance in the eighties, when most bands, majorly coming from the prog scene, turned to Spanish language again. One of the big acts from that era was Jorge Reyes' led Chac Mool. Chac Mool counted on its ranks with Carlos Alvarado, who was an accomplished musician on its own and who would record one of the most interesting electronic prog albums of the era, on which Reyes also collaborated. Originally released on mexican private label Momia in 1980.

"Carlos Alvarado's Via Lactea (Milky Way) is now reissued on vinyl 35 years later. Eurock was especially interested in electronic Cosmic Music exploring both the inner and outer spaces of sound and consciousness. Of all the great music I had heard from Germany’s Klaus Schulze to Tangerine Dream & Spain’s own Neuronium, the album by Carlos stood apart from the rest.

In a sense, it combines the best of worlds, celestial sonic exploration and deeply emotional spiritual listening. A concept album, the track titles convey the musical journey Carlos undertaking - The Structure of the Universe, Garden of the Divine Presence, Into the Light, Man in Eternity, Meditation Post Atomic & The Lark and the Virgin. He employs a vast array of classic electronic instruments - ARP, Korg, Yamaha, synthesizers, Crumar Orchestrator, Mellotron, Piano, Flute & Tapes. The album also features notable guest musicians such as Jorge Reyes and Arturo Meza.

The music you encounter upon listening is not easy to describe. Simply listen, close your eyes and imagine yourself in a majestic Holy Shrine. The sound of the earth’s heartbeat is slowly pulsating in different rhythms; solar winds from out of the sky are alternately wafting then gusting through the open spaces. In accompaniment, elemental sounds of nature fill the air, comingling with melodies from the cosmic spheres and the warm tones of exotic analogue electronica. All of these elements ultimately alchemize into an immaculate creation, a galactic symphony of Birth, Life, Death & Eternity.

Via Lactea is a masterpiece, fusing the technological magic of early electronic tone colors with the spirits of the ancient ones beautifully. Since 1980, Carlos has continued making music as well as running his own label Momia Records. To date the label has released 12 albums by various groups, as well as projects documenting his various other diverse musical incarnations. Carlos’ latest release in 2013, entitled La Musica de los 7 Chakras, offers yet another transcendent musical listening experience."

Archie Patterson