Valerie Simpson ‎– Valerie Simpson

Tamla ‎– T-317 L
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Fix It Alright 4:10
A2 Benjie 2:51
A3 Drink The Wine 3:42
A4 One More Baby Child Born 4:07
A5 Keep It Coming 3:20
B1 I Believe I'm Gonna Take This Ride 2:54
B2 Could Have Been Sweeter 2:09
B3 Silly Wasn't I 2:09
B4 Genius I 4:22
B5 Genius II 3:15

Companies, etc.



℗ © 1972 Motown Record Corporation
Printed in USA

Other Versions (5 of 8) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
TSM - ST 60076 Valerie Simpson Valerie Simpson(LP, Album) Tamla TSM - ST 60076 Italy 1972 Sell This Version
STML 11219 Valerie Simpson Valerie Simpson(LP, Album) Tamla STML 11219 US 1972 Sell This Version
5C 056 93723 Valerie Simpson Valerie Simpson(LP, Album) Tamla Motown 5C 056 93723 Netherlands 1972 Sell This Version
T-317 L Valerie Simpson Valerie Simpson(LP, Album) Tamla Motown T-317 L Canada 1972 Sell This Version
T-317, T.317 Valerie Simpson Silly Wasn't Y(LP, Album) Tapecar, Tamla T-317, T.317 Brazil 1973 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



October 16, 2016
The pictures of the cover here published don't fit with the US country version. In US there's no TamlaMotown - only Tamla.
I own the US-LP, and there's NO LOGO on the front, and TAMLA on the back in the lower right corner


February 17, 2016
Valerie Simpson's second Tamla release was a triumphant follow-up to her "Exposed" LP. All singles written by her and husband Nickolas Asford. Every track on the album is a classic and noteworthy. The lead single off the album, "Silly Wasn't I", was Val's first solo chart at #24 on the R&B charts. According to Motown logs, an album by Ashford and Simpson entitled "Nick and Val" was recorded but was unreleased. After this release, Valerie recorded with her husband as a duo.
Side A:
1.) Fix It Alright (****) A lovely intro to the album, a song about brotherhood and helping each other out with problem. Good song.
2.) Benji (*****) One of my personal favorites on the album, Val and Nick's harmony on this song is simply beautiful.
3.) Drink the Wine (***) An average track. Very sassy.
4.) One More Baby Child Born (***) A song about the joys and trials and tribulations of raising a child. Nice song.
5.) Keep It Coming (*****) Another favorite of mine, which should have been a follow up to Silly Wasn't I. A positive song with a catchy melody.
Side B:
6.) I Believe I'm Gonna Take This Ride (*****) A groovy song with a finger snapping groove that's jazzy and sophisticated. Another nice harmony between husband and wife.
7.) Could Have Been A Little Bit Sweeter (****) A pretty nice filler that is as sweet as candy.
8.) Silly Wasn't I (*****) The stand out song on the LP the song alone is worth the LP
9.)Genius I(****) An acoustic version that gets better on part 2.
10.) Genius II (*****) Grooving conclusion of part 1. Very hot that could have been a single as well.
Highly recommend this album for any record collector Valerie Simpson's solo work is higher underrated and should have higher recognition with a recent compilation of her (and if possible hers and Nick Motown unreleased album) work. (****)


November 27, 2010
This entire LP is worth your time and money just for the cut "Silly Wasn't I" alone! Easily one of my top favorite soul cuts that just embodies the best elements of the style. The greatest charm about this cut in my opinion is Valerie's delivery. Her style is not too over the top yet so sincere and natural with every lyric that it just can't help but send chills. Her voice complimented with just amazing chord progressions and harmonies throughout can't help but make this song perfect. For the beat diggers... 9th Wonder & Murs - Silly Girl and 50 Cent - Best Friend (Remix) as produced by Hi-Tek.