Van Der Graaf Generator ‎– World Record

Virgin ‎– 00946 3 32957 2 8, Charisma ‎– CASCDR 1120
CD, Album, Remastered


1 When She Comes 8:03
2 A Place To Survive 10:05
3 Masks 6:57
4 Meurglys III (The Songwriters Guild) 20:52
5 Wondering 6:39
Bonus Tracks
6 When She Comes 8:10
7 Masks 7:24

Companies, etc.



Recorded and mixed at Rockfield Studios 1 & 2, between May 10-30, 1976 and rehearsed at Headley Grange through April 1976.

Original album released as Charisma CAS 1120 in October 1976.

Tracks 6 and 7 are bonus tracks and are from a session recorded for the BBC Radio One "The John Peel Show", November 11th 1976.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 094633295728
  • Barcode (Text): 0 94633 29572 8
  • Matrix / Runout: WWW.MEDIAMOTION.COM 3329572 @ 2
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LW03
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): ifpi AAH24
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): ifpi AAH23
  • Rights Society: bel/BIEM
  • Label Code: LC 03098

Other Versions (5 of 45) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CAS 1120 Van Der Graaf Generator World Record(LP, Album, Sma) Charisma CAS 1120 UK 1976 Sell This Version
UICY-77003 Van Der Graaf Generator World Record(CD, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, SHM) Virgin, Charisma UICY-77003 Japan 2015 Sell This Version
9124 001 Van Der Graaf Generator World Record(LP, Album) Charisma 9124 001 Portugal 1977 Sell This Version
9211-1120 Van Der Graaf Generator World Record(LP, Album) Charisma 9211-1120 Canada 1976 Sell This Version
VJD-28086 Van Der Graaf Generator World Record(CD, Album) Charisma, Virgin Japan VJD-28086 Japan 1988 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 30, 2016
edited over 3 years ago

World Record was a massive disappointment after the superb Godbluff and Still Life albums. Considered an embarrassing aberration/abomination by almost all UK VdGG fans at the time (the "word of mouth" on this album was atrocious. Bizarrely, however, it's been inexplicably "rehabilitated" by some present day VdGG fans), World Record sounds like the work of an exhausted, uninspired band at the end of its life, which is pretty much what it was. Most of what made VdGG great is conspicuously absent, and is replaced with what might best be termed a sort of "simplified VdGG" music. This means an album of mostly generic sounding, often plodding, and slightly clunky prog rock. Even the lyrics are nowhere near Hammill's usual standard and could have been written by any slightly-more-literate-than-average rock lyricist. Roger Waters, say.

Godbluff and Still Life gave us Hammill thoughts on consciousness, alter egos, death, the nature of memory. immortality etc., World Record gives us songs about someone pretending to be depressed (Masks) actually being depressed (A Place To Survive), and Hammill droning on about his bloody guitar (the dreary, laboured Meurglys III, complete with a risible extended cod-reggae jam). Only the opening When She Comes and the closing Wondering hint at anything resembling VdGG at its best. Well, they sound like songs not considered good enough for either of the two preceding albums, which, for When She Comes at least, was actually the case.

This line up of the band fell apart within weeks of World Record's release - which came as a surprise to no-one who had actually heard the thing - by which time Charisma had already dropped its doomed "VdGG Is For Everyone" campaign like a stone (presumably upon first sight of the album's initial sales figures). As tired and unimaginative as its awful title and even worse cover, World Record is best avoided by all but completists and is definitely not recommended for newcomers to the band's work. Start with either Godbluff, Still Life or Pawn Heats.