Various ‎– 2000 Black Records Presents The Good Good

2000 Black ‎– BLACK CD 001
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Catalyst Sunnin
2 MM Black 2000 Black
Featuring – Roy Ayers
3 Pariss Clemons Black Mary
4 Seiji Silver Blossom
5 Domu Groovesome
6 Pavel Kostiuk Pirates Of Penzance
Featuring – Roy Ayers
7 Kuni* No Way
8 Titonton Duvanté Avenues
9 Nubian Mindz Future Past
10 Hopper Homebrew
11 Somatik Diamondstone
12 4 Hero Naima
13 Da One Way* The Mind

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



May 13, 2016
The 4 Hero version of John Coltrane's "Naima" interesting fact...

They mention in their credit on this release 'based on the Grubb Brothers 1971 version', as they are giving crediting to The Visitors album "Neptune" (1972). The Visitors were essentially brothers Earl Grubbs and Carl Grubbs.

As per many versions of this track, it's a pretty soulful jazz piece, so worth giving a listen to, as a contrasting reference piece.

As of my comment date, AFAIK the album has only ever been available on vinyl, so those looking for a clean digital version may be left disappointed – but still worth a gander at, nonetheless.


August 23, 2014
So good (sic) I had to get a second copy after losing my 1st. Most favourite compilation of Broken beat/bruk/future jazz without even being on any top 50 essential broken beat lists. More listenable and experimental - techno, jazz, electro influence,(the neo soul of Black Mary) than for the dance floor with exception of Pirates of Penzance.