Various ‎– A Century Of Sound

RCA Victor ‎– PL42146, RCA Red Seal ‎– PL42146 (2), Harrods ‎– PL42146
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition, Numbered
Box Set

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Rachmaninov* Rachmaninov : Prelude In C Sharp Minor, Op. 3, No. 2.
A2 Jascha Heifetz Dinicu - Heifetz : Hora Staccato
A3 Boston Symphony Orchestra Rachmaninov Vocalise. Serge Koussevitsky Conducting The Boston Symphony Orchestra
Conductor – Serge Koussevitzky
A4 Lawrence Tibbett Rossini : Largo Al Factotum
A5 Vladimir Horowitz Paganini - Liszt: Etude In E Flat
A6 NBC Symphony Orchestra Rossini : Overture From Il Signor Bruschino Arturo
Conductor – Toscanini*
A7 Paderewski* Paderewski : Minuet In G
B1 The New York Philharmonic Orchestra Strauss: The Blue Danube
Conductor – Leopold Stokowski
B2 Leontyne Price With New Philharmonia Orchestra Puccinin: Vissi D'Arte (From Tosca)
B3 Julian Bream Rodrigo: Adagio (From Concierto De Aranjuez)
B4 Wanda Landowska J. S. Bach: Prelude And Fugue In C (From The Well - Tempered Clavier)
B5 Tomita Debussy: Snowflakes Are Dancing (From Children's Corner)
B6 The Boston Pops Orchestra Gade: Jalousie
Conductor – Arthur Fiedler
B7 Jussi Björling, Robert Merrill Verdi: Solenne In Quest' Ora (From La Forza Del Destino)
B8 The Philadelphia Orchestra Tchaikovsky: Russian Dance (From The Nutcracker Suite)
Conductor – Eugene Ormandy
C1 Original Dixieland Jazz Band Livery Stable Blues
C2 Duke Ellington And His Famous Orchestra* Take The 'A' Train
C3 Thomas 'Fats' Waller* My Very Good Friend The Milkman
C4 Spike Jones And His City Slickers You Always Hurt The One You Love
C5 Jeanette MacDonald, Nelson Eddy Ah, Sweet Mystery Of Life
C6 Benny Goodman And His Orchestra Stompin' At The Savoy
C7 Glenn Miller And His Orchestra Moonlight Serenade
C8 Henry Mancini And His Orchestra Moon River
C9 The Pipes & Drums And Military Band Of The Royal Scots Dragoon Guards* Amazing Grace
D1 Harry Belafonte Banana Boat Song
D2 Eartha Kitt I'm Just An Old - Fashioned Girl
D3 Maurice Chevalier Louise
D4 Paul Anka Diana
D5 Elvis Presley Are You Lonesome Tonight
D6 Jim Reeves I Love You Because
D7 Harry Nilsson Without You
D8 Perry Como It's Impossible

Companies, etc.


To celebrate 100 years of recorded music RCA released this 2 LP Box set, issued in 2 versions Cream coloured Box available in limited quantities throughout Europe, And a green coloured Box which was exclusive to Harrods department store.
This is the green Harrods numbered exclusive issue

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): PL42146 A 1E
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): PL42146 B 1E
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): PL42146 C 1E
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): PL42146 D 1E

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PL42146 Various A Century Of Sound(2xLP, Comp, Ltd + Box) RCA PL42146 UK 1977 Sell This Version