Various ‎– A Classic Guide To No Man's Land

No Man's Land ‎– nml 8813cd
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 David Garland This Is Love
Accordion – Guy KlucevsekDrums – Bobby PreviteLyrics By, Composed By [Composition By] – David GarlandViolin – Lucy SumnerVocals, Computer [Macintosh Computer], Arranged By [Arrangements] – D. Garland*
2 Geoff Leigh The Russians Are Coming
Alto Saxophone [Alto Sax (Riff)], Sequenced By [Analog Sequencer] – John van RymenantAlto Saxophone [Alto Sax], Soloist [Solo] – Byard LancasterVocals, Scratches [Scratch], Flute, Programmed By [Computer Programme], Composed By, Lyrics By – G. Leigh*
3 Orthotonics Fiction-Contra-Diction
Drums, Zither [Long Zither], Composed By – Pippin BarnettEngineer [Engineered By] – John MorandKeyboards, Voice, Lyrics By – Rebby SharpMixed By – John Morand, OrthotonicsSaxophone – Danny Finney
4 Skeleton Crew (2) Safety In Numbers
Bass, Drums, Vocals – Tom CoraEngineer [Engineered By] – H. Vogel*, Tim*Guitar, Snare, Vocals – Fred FrithKeyboards, Vocals – Zeena ParkinsLyrics By, Composed By [Composition By] – Fred Frith, Tom CoraProducer – Tim Hodgkinson
5 Guy Klucevsek Samba D Hiccup
Accordion, Synthesizer [Casiotone], Composed By – G. Klucevsek*Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Chapman Stick – David SeidelEngineer [Recording & Mix Engineer] – Bobby Previte
6 Etron Fou Leloublan La Java Des Bombes Atomiques
Bass – Ferdinand RichardComposed By – Alain GoraguerGuitar, Producer – Fred FrithKeyboards – Jo ThirionLyrics By – Boris VianRecorded By – H. Vogel*Voice – Guigou Chenevier
7 Doctor Nerve Recursion My Ass
Bass [Spector Bass] – Jonathan TesslerBass Clarinet, Contrabass Clarinet – Michael LytleDrum Programming [Drum Machine Programming] – James MussenElectric Guitar, Drum Programming [Drum Machine Programming], Composed By – Nick DidkovskyProducer [Produced By] – N. Didkovsky*Soprano Saxophone [Soprano Sax] – Yves DuboinTrumpet – Dave DouglasVibraphone – Marc Wagnon
8 :Zoviet France* First Vigil
Composed By – :Zoviet France*
9 Uludag 7 Für Nichts
Bass – Werner CeeComposed By – Lothar Reitz, Peter Hollinger, Werner CeeDrums – Peter HollingerEngineer [Engineered By] – Ecki (3)Violin – Lothar Reitz
10 Iva Bittová / Pavel Fajt* Bozi Dárek
Drums – Pavel FajtMixed By – Hubl Greiner, K.H. Backes*Producer – Hubl GreinerRecorded By – K.H. Backes*Voice, Violin – Iva Bittová
11 Non Credo Writer
Guest, Bass – Jesse JacobsonGuest, Synthesizer, Piano [Tack] – Jerome FaulknerPercussion – Joseph BerardiRecorded By – Earle MankeyVocals, Synthesizer [Synth.], Lyrics By, Composed By [Composition By] – Kira Vollman
12 Lindsay Cooper In The Archive
Engineer – Walter BrüssowPiano, Synthesizer – Elvira PlenarSopranino Saxophone, Composed By – Lindsay CooperSoprano Saxophone, Bass Clarinet – Alfred 23 Harth*Violin, Trombone – Annemarie Roelofs
13 Lindsay Cooper Mainz
Engineer – Walter BrüssowPiano, Synthesizer – Elvira PlenarSopranino Saxophone, Composed By – Lindsay CooperSoprano Saxophone, Bass Clarinet – Alfred 23 Harth*Violin, Trombone – Annemarie Roelofs
14 Lindsay Cooper Paulskirche
Engineer – Walter BrüssowPiano, Synthesizer – Elvira PlenarSopranino Saxophone, Composed By – Lindsay CooperSoprano Saxophone, Bass Clarinet – Alfred 23 Harth*Violin, Trombone – Annemarie Roelofs
15 Meltable Snaps It Tattersal
Clarinet [Clarinets], Performer [Game Calls, Humzoo], Electronics, Voice – M. Lytle*Composed By – Christian Marclay, David Moss, George Cartwright, Michael LytlePercussion [Multiple Percussion], Voice – D. Moss*Producer [Produced By] – G. Cartwright*, M. Lytle*Recorded By [Of WRPI, Troy, NY] – Aaron Heller, David LaskinSaxophone [Saxophones], Flute, Performer [Various Bird And Animal Calls] – G. Cartwright*Turntables – Chr. Marclay*
16 Jad Fair / Half Japanese* Big Train Tango
Bass – Rob KennedyDrums – Scott JarvisGuitar – Don Fleming, Mark JicklingProducer [Produced By], Engineer [Engineered By] – Kramer (2)Voice [Megaphone Voice], Lyrics By, Composed By [Composition By] – Jad Fair
17 Jad Fair / Half Japanese* A Man Without A Head
Bass Guitar [Bass Guitars], Producer [Produced By], Engineer [Engineered By] – Kramer (2)Guitar [guitars] – Don FlemingVoice, Lyrics By, Composed By [Composition By] – Jad Fair
18 Jad Fair / Half Japanese* Muleskinner Blues
Bass – Rob KennedyComposed By – George Vaughn, Jimmie RodgersDrums – Scott JarvisPercussion – Don Fleming, Mark JicklingProducer [Produced By], Engineer [Engineered By] – Kramer (2)Voice, Guitar – Jad FairWritten By – Jimmie Rodgers & George Vaughn
19 Biota Hidden Aboard
Accordion, Bass Guitar, Banjo, Bells, Performer [Cheng], Voice – Gordon H. WhitlowAlto Saxophone, Bass Clarinet, Guitar – Steve ScholbeComposed By, Producer [Produced By], Mixed By – BiotaDrums – Larry WilsonEngineer [Engineered By] – Mark Piersel, William SharpOrgan, Bass Guitar, Guitar – Tom KatsimpalisPsaltery, Bagpipes – William SharpTechnician [Technical Assistance] – Mark DerbyshireTrumpet, Guitar [Guitars], Psaltery, Voice – Mark Piersel
20 Proof Of Utah Paranoic Hairline
Drums, Vocals – Louie*Engineer [Engineered By], Producer [Produced By] – Louie*, Bosco*Guitar [Guitars], Vocals – Bosco*Keyboards – ChickenmanLyrics By, Composed By [Composition By] – Louie Simon, Mike Brosco

Companies, etc.



Track 1 recorded at King Street Studio, NYC. Mixed at Harmonic Ranch, NYC.
Track 2 recorded on TEAC 8track. Mixed on OTARI 2track, at "home", September 1987.
Track 3 recorded July 1987. Special thanks to Bruce Olsen & Christoph Kurzman.
Track 4 recorded at Sunrise Studio 12 / 85 - 01 / 86.
Track 5 commissioned by choreographer Mark Taylor for his group piece "Uneven Sentiments".
Track 6 recorded at Sunrise Studio, Kirchberg 8 / 85.
Track 7 recorded 8track at Grampa Studios, Brooklyn, NYC. All performances live except drums. Drum machine was re-programmed after the live tracks were put on tape, so that the machine could react to the live performances! Over 100 patterns were programmed for the piece. "Recursion" is a repetitive process whereby a procedure solves a problem by using itself over and over again.
Track 8 recorded specially for 'A Classic Guide To No Man's Land'.
Track 9 recorded at Thomas Funk Studio, Berlin, 1985.
Track 10 live-recording 06 / 87; Mixed at Tonstudio Klang & Hammer Studio, Konstanz, BRD.
Tracks 12 to 14 recorded March 1987 at Trion Studio, Frankfurt / Main. These pieces were written and recorded for "Das Nächste Jahrhundert Wird Unseres Sein" and "Wir Wollen Lieber Fliegen als Kriechen", directed by Claudia von Allemann for Hessischer Rundfunk television.
Track 15 recorded live in Albany, New York during fall 1985 New York State Council of The New Arts New Music Network Tour.
Tracks 16 to 18 produced and engineered at Noise New York.
Track 19 engineered at Bughouse & Dys Studios, Spring - Summer 1987.
Track 20 recorded at Smiley Turtle Studio, Champaign, IL.
Engineered [...] Klang & Hammer Studio Konstanz
Digital Premastering by Tonstudio Bauer Ludwigsburg
(c & p) 1988 Edition No Man's Land
All compositions published by Review Records
Manufactured & printed in West-Germany
Distributed by: Recommended No Man's Land

Packaging: standard jewel case with 24 page booklet

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: nml 8813cd P+O-0958-A 01-88
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 8538