Various ‎– Beat Classic

D.C. Recordings ‎– DC 10 LP
3 × Vinyl, 12", Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 B+ B-Beat Classic (Vocal)
Producer, Arranged By, Mixed By – Spyder D*Written-By – D. Hughes*
A2 Levi 167 Something Fresh To Swing To (Instrumental)
Producer – TK (2)Written-By – Levi 167
B1 Fantasy Three It's Your Rock (Instrumental)
Producer – Master O.C.Written-By – C. Jimenez*, L. Mack*, R. Hobdy*
B2 Rock Master Scott & The Dynamic 3* It's Life (You Gotta Think Twice) (Bonus Version)
Producer, Arranged By, Mixed By – Jerry BloodrockWritten-By – C. Pettiford*, G. Wigfall*, R. Fowler*
C1 MC Craig G* Shout (Rap)
Producer – Double M EyeWritten-By – C. Curry*, M. Williams*, S. Moltke*
C2 Steady B Just Call Us Def (Instrumental)
Producer, Mixed By – Lawrence GoodmanWritten-By – W. McGlone*
D1 Hi-Fidelity Three* Featuring Sarah Dash Never Satisfied (Instrumental)
Producer, Arranged By, Mixed By – Aldo Marin, Jerry Calliste Jr.Written-By – D. Taylor*, M. Kydd*, R. Mabry*, W. McDonald*
D2 Disco Four Throwdown (Instrumental)
Producer – PumpkinWritten-By – Bailey*, Bedward*, Marrius*, Green*, Robinson*, Booker*
E1 Z-3 MC's Triple Threat (Radio Edit)
Producer – Duke BooteeWritten-By – C. Storey, E. Fletcher*, J. Smith (3), M. Caldwell
E2 Ultra Magnetic MC's* Funky (Instrumental)
Producer – Ultra Magnetic MC's*Written-By – C. Miller*, K. Thornton*, M. Smith*
F Rammelzee* Vs. K Rob* Beat Bop (Full Version)
Producer, Arranged By – Jean Michel Basquiat*Written-By – A. Diaz*, M. Johnson*, S. Piccarello, S. Bunch*



A2 production credited here to Money Mike but the 12" and other sources indicate TK as the producer.

The original pressing contains a 10" black & white poster with the tracklisting on the back.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 017687 711018
  • Label Code: LC 7871

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
DC10CDX Various Beat Classic(CD, Comp) D.C. Recordings DC10CDX UK 1997 Sell This Version
DC10LPX Various Beat Classic(3x12", Comp, Promo) D.C. Recordings DC10LPX UK 1997 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



September 15, 2014
edited over 3 years ago
Compilation of mostly instrumentals from the early 80s NYC electro-rap hip hop movement compiled by The Octagon Man in 97. Good reminder of how electronic, rough, and raw the big beat sound of hiphop was in the beginning;-- wonderfully void of today's wack pop tie-ins and wack r-n-b commercial embedded-ness.The hip hop on this comp is bordering on the industrial side. Great way to teleport yourself mentally back to 1982.


February 11, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

A disappointing release as many of the tracks are the instrumental or alternative vocal versions, but this fact is sadly not advertised on the cover. That, and the inexplicable censoring of "Beat Bop", make this feel like a wasted opportunity.


December 10, 2004
edited over 13 years ago
The Beat Bop track is censored, it has a bleep over the profanity. This seems to be the only label that has done so. All others (Profile/Tar Town/Street Sounds) are uncensored.