Various ‎– Between Or Beyond The Black Forest 2

Crippled Dick Hot Wax! ‎– cdhw 064
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Rimona Francis Bulgarian Beans
Bass – Frank TusaDrums – Buddy WilliamsEngineer [Recording, Recording Director] – Hans Georg Brunner-SchwerGuitar – Barry FinnertyKeyboards – Jasper Van't HofProducer – Joachim Ernst BerendtTenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute – Leszek ZadloVocals, Piano – Rimona FrancisWritten-By – Stu Hacohen
A2 Dieter Reith Knock Out
Bass [Fender] – Dave KingCongas – Sabu MartinezDrums – Todd CanedyElectric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Organ [String], Synthesizer, Piano, Producer, Written-By – Dieter ReithEngineer [Recording, Recording Director] – Carlos AlbrechtTenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – Wilton Gaynair
A3 Jasper Van't Hof Titty-Chickie-Fitterburg
Bass [Fender] – John Lee (3)Drums – Alphonse MouzonElectric Piano [Rhodes] – George Gruntz, Gordon Beck, Jasper Van't Hof, Joachim Kühn, Wolfgang DaunerEngineer [Recording Director] – Gerard LüllEngineer [Recording] – Hans Menzel, Mack (2)Grand Piano – Martial SolalWritten-By – Jasper Van't Hof
B1 George Duke Faces In Reflection 2
Bass – John HeardDrums – Leon Ndugu ChanclerEngineer [Recording Director], Producer – Baldhard G. FalkEngineer [Recording] – Fred Borkgren, Kerry McNabbKeyboards, Vocals, Written-By – George Duke
B2 Peter Herbolzheimer Frogdance
Bass – Niels-Henning Ørsted PedersenConductor, Written-By – Peter HerbolzheimerCongas – Sabu MartinezDrums – Tony InzalacoEngineer [Recording] – Jan AudierGuitar – Philip Cathérine*Organ, Electric Piano – Dieter Reith, Horst MühlbradtSaxophone, Flute – Herb GellerTrombone – Jiggs Whigham, Peter Herbolzheimer, Rudi Füsers, Ake Persson*Trumpet – Ack Van Rooyen, Art Farmer, Palle Mikkelborg, Rick Kiefer
B3 Jasper Van't Hof Poobli
Drums, Written-By – Alphonse MouzonElectric Bass – John Lee (3)Engineer [Recording] – Hinrick Lund*, Niels Erik LundKeyboards, Producer – Jasper Van't HofTenor Saxophone – Bob Malik*
C1 Charly Antolini Scratches
Baritone Saxophone – Herman SchoonderwaltBass – Jean WarlandDrums – Charly AntoliniEngineer [Recording Director], Producer – Willi FruthEngineer [Recording] – H. Scheuermann*Guitar – Siegfried SchwabPercussion – Bernie ProckPiano, Organ – Armin RuschSaxophone, Flute, Written-By – Heinz von HermannTrombone – Rudi FüsersTrumpet – Ack Van Rooyen, Dusko Goykovich
C2 Nelson Riddle Volcano's Daughter
Engineer [Recording] – H. Kramper*Orchestra – Nelson Riddle And His OrchestraProducer – Claus Ogermann*, Willi FruthWritten-By – Rolf Hans Müller*
C3 The New Dave Pike Set Baiafrock / Volker
Bass – Eberhard WeberBerimbau, Pandeiro, Percussion [Atabaques] – Onias CarmadelliDrums – Marc Hellmann*Engineer [Recording Director], Producer – Claus SchreinerEngineer [Recording] – Selio S. Martins*Guitar, Written-By – Volker KriegelPercussion [Atabaques], Surdo – Edson Emeterio de SantanaTimbales, Triangle, Agogô, Percussion [Pinicos, Atabaques & Various Percussion Instruments] – Djalam Correa*Vibraphone [Vibes] – Dave Pike
C4 Roland Kovac Powerstart
Composed By, Arranged By, Conductor, Written-By, Engineer [Recording Director], Producer – Roland KovacEngineer [Recording] – Manfred KlabundeOrchestra – Orchester Roland KovacSoloist, Alto Saxophone – Derek HumbleSoloist, Bass – Johnny Fisher*Soloist, Drums – Jimmy PrattSoloist, Percussion – Stuff CombeSoloist, Piano – Francis CoppietersSoloist, Trombone – Cliff Hardy*Soloist, Trumpet – Jimmy Deuchar
D1 Rolf Kühn Miss Maggie
Bass – Bo StiefClarinet, Written-By, Producer, Arranged By [Brass Band] – Rolf KühnDrums – Daniel HumairEngineer [Recording Director] – Willi FruthEngineer [Recording] – Wolfgang HirschmannGuitar – Philip CatherinePercussion – Kasper WindingPiano, Electric Piano – Joachim KühnTenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – Gerd DudekTrombone – Albert Mangelsdorff
D2 Mary Lou Williams A Grand Nite For Swinging
Bass – Percy HeathDrums – Tim KennedyEngineer [Recording] – Tommy NolyPiano, Written-By – Mary Lou WilliamsProducer – Joachim Ernst Berendt
D3 Baden Powell Sarava
Agogô, Percussion [Atabaque] – Amauri CoelhoCuica – Alfredo BessaDrums – Milton BananaEngineer [Recording Director] – Joachim Ernst BerendtEngineer [Recording] – Dorival Reis, Paulo Nascimento (2)Guitar, Agogô, Written-By – Baden PowellProducer – Joachim Ernst Berendt, Wadi Gebara Netto
D4 George Shearing The World Is A Ghetto
Bass – Andy Simpkins*Congas, Bongos – Chino ValdesDrums – Rusty JonesEngineer [Recording, Recording Director], Producer – Hans Georg Brunner-SchwerGuitar – Siegfried SchwabPiano – George ShearingVibraphone [Vibes] – Heribert Thusek

Companies, etc.



Subtitled: More Smokin' Grooves From The Legendary <a href=>MPS</a> Label

Gatefold sleeve.
Tracks D2, D3 and D4 are vinyl bonus tracks.

This record is dedicated to the memory of <a href=>Joachim Ernst Berendt</a> (R.I.P).

A1 recorded 24th-27th October 1977 at MPS Studios Villingen, Black Forest. Originally released on <a href=>Rimona Francis: Rimona Francis</a> (MPS 15.508) (P) 1978 MPS Records
A2 recorded December 1974 & January 1975 at Tonstudio Bauer, Ludwigsburg. Originally released on <a href=>Dieter Reith: Knock Out</a> (MPS 15.456). (P) 1975 MPS Records
A3 recorded 19th-21th May 1975, Musicland Studios, Munich. Originally released on <a href=>George Gruntz: Palais Anthology - Piano Conclave</a> (MPS 15.462). (P)1975 MPS Records
B1 recorded 1973 at Los Angeles, California. Originally released on <a href=>George Duke: Faces In Reflection</a> (MPS 15.421). (P) 1974 MPS Records.
B2 recorded August 1973 at Soundpush Studios, Blaricum, Holland. Originally released on <a href=>Rhythm Combination & Brass / Peter Herbolzheimer: Wide Open</a> (MPS 15.391). (P) 1974 MPS Records
B3 recorded 11th-13th July 1977 at Easy-Sound-Studio, Copenhagen, Dänemark. Originally released on <a href=>Jasper van't Hof: However</a>(MPS 15.513). (P) 1978 MPS Records
C1 recorded 24th-26th January 1972, Union Studios, Munich. Originally released on <a href=>Charly Antolini: In The Groove</a> (MPS 15.354). (P) 1972 MPS Records.
C2 recorded August & September 1971, Bavaria Tonstudio, Munich. Nelson Riddle and his orchestra (further details unknown). Originally released on Nelson Riddle: Communication (MPS 15.354). (P) 1971 MPS Records
C3 recorded June 18th - 21st 1972, at Somil Studios, Rio de Janeiro. Originally released on: The New Dave Pike Set & Grupo Baiafro De Bahia: Salomào (MPS 15.370) (P) 1972 MPS Records.
C4 recorded February 1968, Cologne. Originally released on: <a href=>Orchester Roland Kovac: Trip to Mars</a> (MPS 15.165). (P) 1968 MPS Records
D1 recorded 29th January 1975, at Cornet Studio in Cologne. Originally released on: <a href=>The Rolf Kühn Group: Total Space</a> (MPS 15.392). (P) 1975 MPS Records.
D2 recorded 19th November 1963 at Cue Studios, New York. Originally released om: <a href=>Black Christ of the Andes</a> (MPS 15.062). (P) 1963 MPS Records.
D3 recorded 1st of June 1966, at Studio Riosom S/A and 2nd June 1966 at Studio Atonal Ltda., Rio de Janeiro. Originally released on <a href=>Baden Powell: Tristeza On Guitar</a> (MPS 15.090). (P) 1966 MPS Records.
D4 recorded June 1974, at MPS Studio Villingen, Black Forest. Originally released on <a href=>George Shearing: The Way We Are</a> (MPS 15.434). (P) 1975 MPS Records.

Mastered for vinyl at Calyx.
Tracks used with kind permission of Universal Classic Jazz and Family Entertainment Hamburg.
More MPS-Records available through Universal-Jazz.
Produced by Crippled Dick Hot Wax!
Made In Germany
Direct Metal Mastering

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 18750 44171 3
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 9759
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out Side A): EFA-LP-04417 A / DMM G.P.
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out Side B): EFA-LP-04417 B / DMM G.P.
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out Side C): EFA-LP-04417 C / DMM G.P.
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out Side D): EFA-LP-04417 ´D / DMM G.P.