Various ‎– Book A Trip 2: More Psych Pop Sounds Of Capitol Records

Now Sounds (2) ‎– CRNOW-46, Now Sounds (2) ‎– crnow 46
Book A Trip – 2
CD, Compilation, Stereo, Mono

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Staccatos (3) Catch The Love Parade
Bass – Brian RadingDrums – Mike "Bell" Belanger*Drums, Vocals – Rick "Bell" Belanger*Guitar, Vocals – Les Emmerson, Vern CraigProducer – Nick VenetWritten-By – Les Emmerson
2 The Tombstones (6) Times Will Be Hard
Drums – Ervin MalcuitProducer – Alexis De Azevedo*Vocals, Bass – Fred McGintyVocals, Lead Guitar – Douglas Holt (2)Vocals, Trumpet, Saxophone – Felix "Sunny" Maldonado*Written-By – Holt*, Malcuit*, Huff*, McGinty*
3 The Laughing Wind Don't Take Very Much To See Tomorrow
Performer – Danny Harris (3), Michael Lloyd, Shaun HarrisProducer – Kim FowleyWritten-By – Michael Lloyd
4 These Vizitors For Mary's Sake
Drums – Travis RoseEngineer – Phil RamoneProducer – Richie KayeVocals, Bass – Mike Curtis*Vocals, Guitar – Rick Curtis*, Tom Curtis (6)Vocals, Tambourine – Patty CurtisWritten-By – Michael Curtis, Richard Curtis
5 Chris And Craig I Can't Go On
Drums – Hal BlaineProducer – Steve DouglasVocals, Guitar – Chris Ducey, Craig Smith (6)Written-By – Chris Ducey
6 Jesse Lee Kincaid Masquerade
Arranged By – Dan DaltonGuitar, Vocals – Jesse Lee KincaidProducer – Dan DaltonTrombone – Danny FaragherWritten-By – Jesse Lee Kincaid
7 The Knack (7) Pretty Daisy
Bass, Vocals – Larry GouldDrums – Pug BakerEngineer – John Krause*Guitar, Vocals – Dink KaplanLead Vocals, Guitar – Michael ChainProducer – Alexis De Azevedo*Saxophone – Plas JohnsonTrombone – Lou BlackburnTrumpet – Buddy Childers, Frederick Hill*Written-By – D. Kaplan*, M. Chain*
8 Raw Edge (2) October Country
Drums – Steve BaimGuitar – Stan AyeroffKeyboards, Bass, Vocals – Michael LloydProducer – Michael LloydWritten-By – Michael Lloyd
9 Ian Whitcomb Groovy Day
Arranged By – Jerry StynerBass – Carol KayeDrums – Jim GordonGuitar – James BurtonLead Vocals, Piano – Ian WhitcombPiano – Larry KnechtelProducer – Jerry Styner, Mike CurbWritten-By – Ian Whitcomb
10 Ellie Janov Portobello Road
Arranged By – James Bond*Bass – Keith Mitchell (6)Cello – Armand Kaproff, Jesse EhrlichDrums – James Gordon*Guitar – Al Viola, Cyrus Faryar, Louis MorellHarpsichord, Piano – Don RandiLeader – James Bond*Percussion – Milt HollandProducer – Nick VenetTambourine, Bells – George KastTrumpet – Robert Bryant*Viola – Joseph DiFiore, Leonard SelicViolin – Leonard Malarsky, Ralph Schaeffer, Sidney Sharp, William KuraschWritten-By – Cat Stevens, Kim Fowley
11 Michael Blodgett Fire Engine Sky
Arranged By – Gene PageBass – Neil LeVangConcertmaster – Benjamin BarrettDrums, Percussion – Hal BlaineFlute, Saxophone, Recorder, Oboe – Jack GellGuitar – Danny Beis, David Cohen, Michael Anthony (5)Percussion – Frank Gurrero*, Gary Coleman, Jack SchulmanPiano, Organ, Harpsichord – Gene GarfProducer – Robert Edmondson*Recorder, Flute – Anthony OrtegaTrombone – Gail Martin, Louis Blackburn*Trumpet – Ollie Mitchell, Thomas Scott (2)Written-By – Robert Edmondson*
12 Robbi Curtice When Diana Paints The Picture
Producer – Ralph Murphy, Vic Smith*Written-By – Rob Ashmore, Tom Payne
13 Timothy Clover Trolley Car Line
Drums – Bobby Gregg, Bruce Patch, Larry Jaspon, Lennie PetzeEngineer – Bill RadiceGuitar – Al GorgoniKeyboards – Joe RenzettiProducer – B. Patch*, L. Petze*Written-By – Bruce Patch, Larry Jaspon, Lenny Petze*
14 The Unforscene Little Toy
Guitar, Vocals – Dan Yard, Terry Rowbotham*Producer – Don Perry, Larry BrownWritten-By – Terry Rowbotham*
15 The Sugar Shoppe Skip-A-Long Sam
Arranged By – Mort GarsonDrums – Stanley Levey*Piano – Al De LoryProducer – Al De LorySaxophone, Clarinet, Piccolo Flute – James Horn*Saxophone, Trumpet – Abe MostTrumpet – Carroll Lewis*, Louis Blackburn*Vocals – Laurie Hood, Lee Harris (12), Peter Mann (4), Victor GarberWritten-By – Donovan Leitch*
16 Sidewalk Skipper Band Sidewalk Skipper Song
Drums, Percussion – Tom JukemLead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Bass – Joe BallestrieriLead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Twelve-String Guitar, Bass, Percussion – Rick Novak (2)Producer – Ken MansfieldVocals, Guitar, Organ – Brian BallestrieriVocals, Lead Guitar, Harpsichord, Bass – D.A. McDowellWritten-By – D.A. McDowell, Rick Novak (2)
17 The Pink Cloud Midnight Sun
Producer – Hank Levine, Larry GoldbergVocals – David LucasWritten-By – David Lucas
18 James Flemming Alone, Alone
Arranged By – Rene HallProducer – Dan DaltonWritten-By – Gary Montgomery, Jack Dalton
19 The Tuneful Trolley Hello Love
Arranged By – Jerry VanceBass – Brian ParksDrums – Jack RioloLead Guitar – Santo CiccarelloLead Vocals – Joey DeSaneOrgan – Paul ConocentiProducer – Sanda Yaguda*Recording Supervisor – Artie KornfeldRhythm Guitar – Anthony BordonaroWritten-By – Richie Adams*
20 The New Kick Song The City Sings
Arranged By – Brian RossBass – Joe OsbornConductor – Brian RossDrums – Hal BlaineGuitar – Al Casey (2)Keyboards – Don RandiProducer – Brian RossWritten-By – Les Emmerson
21 Griffin* Don't Leave Me
Arranged By – Larry Muhoberac, Vincent Morton*Bass – Reinhold PressDrums – John GuerinFlugelhorn – Marvin Stamm, Paul Hubinon, Anthony Terran*French Horn – Bill Hinshaw*Guitar – John Morell, Larry CarltonPercussion – Gene EstesProducer – Kelly GordonSaxophone, Flute – Thomas Scott (2)Trombone – Charles Loper, Lew McCrearyTrumpet – Marvin Stamm, Paul Hubinon, Anthony Terran*Vocals – Gary Duckworth, George Green (2), Mike Brady (7), Vince MortonWritten-By – Harry Nilsson
22 The Surf Symphony That Bluebird Of Summer
Arranged By – Mike Rubini*, Vic Briggs*Bass – Lyle Ritz, Ray PohlmanCello – Anne Goodman, Frederick Seykora, Jesse Ehrlich, Raymond Kelley*Concertmaster – James GetzoffConductor – Jan RubiniDrums – Jim GordonFrench Horn – Arthur Maebe*, George Price, Henry Sigismonti, Richard Perissi, Vincent Da Rosa*, Bill Hinshaw*Guitar – Ben Benay, Mike Deasy, Victor BriggsHarp – Gail LaughtonKeyboards – Don Randi, John MylesPercussion – Gary ColemanProducer – Mike Rubini*, Vic Briggs*Trombone – Dick Hyde, Lew McCrearyTrumpet – Ollie Mitchell, Virgil EvansViola – Gareth Nuttycombe, Joseph Di Fiore*, Louis Kievman, Samuel BoghossianViolin – Arnold Belnick, Assa Drori, Darrel Terwillinger*, Herman Ciebanoff, John De Voogdt, Leonard Malarsky, Lou Klass, Lou Raderman, Marshall Sosson, Michael Nutt, Nathan RossWoodwind – James Horn*, Jules JacobWritten By – M. Marquette (2)
23 The Laughing Wind Good To Be Around
Performer – Danny Harris (3), Michael Lloyd, Shaun HarrisProducer – Kim FowleyWritten-By – Michael Lloyd
24 Ian Whitcomb The End
Bass – Gerry RyanDrums – Ian McGarryExecutive-Producer – Jerry DennonLead Guitar – Mick Molloy (2)Lead Vocals, Piano – Ian WhitcombProducer – Ian WhitcombRhythm Guitar – Deke O'BrienWritten-By – Ian Whitcomb

Companies, etc.



Made in EU.
Catalogue number printed as CRNOW-46 on front cover.
Catalogue number printed as crnow on back cover and spine.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5013929064621



Add Review



May 25, 2016

Lightweight bubblegum psychedelia from a major label attempting to cash in on flower-power but not wanting to frighten the horses. Normally I run a mile from this type of whimsical fluff - but actually the tracks are so well produced and catchy that I'm enjoying it despite myself.

The track by Michael Lloyd (also in the West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band) - Raw Edge's October Country is a good example of bubblegum psych with just the merest whiff of menace that makes it highly persuasive. I see you can buy promo copies of the 7" for under a tenner ... hmmm.

I'm going to see if I can get the first volume for a few quid. I got this one for £4 in a local shop.