Various ‎– Boyd In The Void

Flying Rhino Records ‎– AFR006
2 × Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A Masaray Time Traveler Of Trance
Written-By, Producer – Masayuki Kurihara, Ray Castle
B Slinky Wizard Supernatural
Producer – R Trevor*, J Monro*Written-By, Producer – D Lamb*, G Barker*, R Biggs*
C Technossomy The Joker
Written-By, Producer – J Monro*, M Evans*
D1 Green Nuns Of The Revolution Atomic Armadillo
Written-By, Producer – R Trevor*, M Coldrick*, S Burden*
D2 Sheyba Ganesh
Written-By, Producer – C Anderson*, J Borreli*

Companies, etc.

  • Made ByMPO



Track A is from the album Cosmic Trancer, and is named "Time Traveller" on this release.


All tracks (p) & (c) Flying Rhino Records 1995 except track A licensed from Psy-Harmonics, Australia.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): MPO AFR 006 1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): MPO AFR 006 2-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): MPO AFR 006 3-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): MPO AFR 006 4-1

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
Di 0392 Various Boyd In The Void(CD, Comp) Distance, Flying Rhino Records Di 0392 France 1995 Sell This Version
AFR006 Various Boyd In The Void(5xFile, MP3, Comp, 128) Flying Rhino Records AFR006 UK 2009


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



November 25, 2018

I want to echo the rave comments from the other reviewers. All I have to add is that this compilation has fabulous flow, something conspicuously absent from most other (weaker) compilations. Loong, slowish, epic tracks build to the frenetic climax which is The Green Nuns' "Atomic Armadillo", and then there is the descant and return to a chilled plateau via Sheyba. All this is achieved with only 5 tracks. 5 quality tracks. 5 tracks that straddle the line between darkness and light. Oh, and I should also mention Mark Neal's playful cover art, which features blacklight purple, uv lime green and fluorescent orange - the characteristic colours of an era. ~*~


June 14, 2008

What a lush double LP release from the legendary Flying Rhino Records!
Very trippy and enhanced cover art, with remarkable vinyl mastering, especially when taking into consideration how old the tracks are, and last but not least, the music:
Masaray, a pioneering duo drop by with what is to my ears their greatest track ever, Time Traveler Of Trance, which is just that. Long, epic, melodic and very intricate for a track as old as it is. Definitely a number to check out if you care to discover stuff the genre would end up getting built upon.
Slinky Wizard and The Green Nuns Of The Revolution, some of my favorite FRR heroes, both deliver two straight forward, acidic, fast and melody driven tunes, out of which Atomic Armadillo would probably take the crown. Wow, for a 1995 track, this sure is explosive, with torrents of sonic energy and acid fury teleporting themselves from the vinyl grooves into your brain. Fantastic.
Technossomy and Sheyba, a collab between Elysium and Jean Borelli of the Orion fame, deliver melodic bliss just as we'd get to expect from them during the later years. While Sheyba's Ganesh is generally the more appreciated tune here, James Monro and Matt Evans really hit it on the spot with the massive The Joker! May be just a little harder on the kick than the material they'd get known for afterwards, but it's a colossal track on its own, with a well crafted melody, but not too heavy on the synths or in the face as their more known classics.
Overall judgement? Five sheer classics across two vinyls released on one of the genre's back then most prominent labels is what you get here. For old school freaks, it hardly gets better. Essential stuff.